Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Mining in Butte

  • All fields: Parrot
(100 results)



Display: 100

    • Anaconda Hill

    • 1894
    • Mines
    • Image of Anaconda Hill in uptown Butte. The headframe are listed, as follows, from left to right: the High Ore Mine, the Parrot Mine, the Neversweat Mine, the Colusa-Parrot Mine, the Ramsdell-Parrot Mine, the Balona Mine, and the Bricker.
    • Anaconda Road and Parrot Mine

    • 1952
    • Mines
    • Image of the Anaconda Road, which wound up the Butte Hill between many of the major mines. Note that the Butte Mines Machine Shop was under construction at the Parrot Mine during this time.
    • Butte Mines

    • 1910
    • Mines
    • Image of various Butte mines. Headframes are listed, as follows, from left to right: the Original Mine, Highore, Nipper #1 and #2, Mountain View, Anaconda, Neversweat and the Parrot. Note the copper tanks in front of Orignal mine.
    • Little Minah Mine

    • 1880
    • Mines
    • Image of the Little Minah Mine, which was owned by the Parrot Mines.
    • Mountain View Mine

    •  
    • Mines
    • Photo collage of the Mountain View Mine, the Silver Bow shard, and the Parrot and Colusa Mines.
    • Neversweat and Anaconda Mines

    • 1916
    • Mines
    • Image of the Neversweat and the Anaconda Mines. Note at the far right is W.A. Clark's Colusa Mine and also the Parrot Mine shafts. The Butte Compressor Plant can be seen at the far right.
    • Parrot & Anaconda Mines

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • An image collage of the Parrot and Anaconda Mines, two of the largest copper mines in the world. Note also the Lexington Mine and Mill.
    • Parrot & Neversweat Mines

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot and Neversweat Mines. Note that both headframes are still enclosed.
    • Parrot & Neversweat Mines

    • 1890
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Mine and the Neversweat Mine. Note that both headframes are enclosed.
    • Parrot Air Shaft

    •  
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot air shaft, originally the Parrot Mine.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1898
    • Mines
    • Image taken underground in the Parrot Mine between the 600 and 700-foot levels.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1890
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Mine. The Parrot Mine became a property of Anaconda Copper Mining Company in 1906.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1898
    • Mines
    • Image taken underground in the Parrot Mine with two miners using candles to examine rock. The view is at the 800-foot level.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1898
    • Mines
    • Image taken underground in the Parrot Mine with two miners using candles to examine rock. The view is at the 800-foot level.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1890
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Mine, the Colusa Parrot Mine, and the Neversweat Mine.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1890
    • Mines
    • Image taken underground in the Parrot Mine at the 1000-foot level.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1898
    • Mines
    • Image taken underground in a stope at the Parrot Mine.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1898
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Mine. Note that the headframe is still enclosed.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image taken underground at the Parrot Mine.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image taken underground in the Parrot Mine demonstrating the use of a double-jack drill.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image of miners with their candles while underground at the Parrot Mine. The man with the beard is identified as Al Schumacher, the mine superintendent.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1898
    • Mines
    • Image taken underground in the Parrot Mine during a lunch break.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image taken underground in a square stope at the Parrot Mine. Superintendent Al Schmaucher and General Manager Grant shaking hands.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Mine headframe, which would be moved to the Neversweat Mine in 1915.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1914
    • Mines
    • Image taken at the Parrot Mine following minor damage to the rustling card office after a blast in the mine. Dated in June of 1914.
    • Parrot Mine

    •  
    • Mines
    • Image of the blacksmith shop in the Parrot Mine yard.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Postcard image of the Parrot Mine.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1909
    • Mines
    • Image taken underground at the Parrot Mine.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1940
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Mine, which later became the upcast air shaft for the hill. Its steel headframe would be moved to the Neversweat Mine some years later.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image taken underground at the Parrot Mine.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Mine. The headframe would be moved to the location of the Neversweat Mine in 1906.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Mine.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Mine.
    • Parrot Mine

    •  
    • Mines
    • Image of the blacksmith shop in the Parrot Mine yard.
    • Parrot Mine

    • 1934
    • Mines
    • Image taken of ruins of the unused Parrot Mine ice house. The damage was done during the strike of 1934.
    • Parrot Mine Air Shaft

    • 1910
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Mine air shaft taken after the year 1906.
    • Parrot Mine Dry

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Mine change house, also referred to as a dry.
    • Parrot Mine Hoist

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Mine flat cable hoist.
    • Parrot Mine Machine Shop Supervisors

    • 1943
    • Mines
    • Image of the machine shop supervisors at the Parrot Mine. The individual on the left is Mr. Jaccard and on the right is George Nevin. Dated in May 1943.
    • Parrot Mine Office and Employees

    • 1898
    • Mines
    • Image includes some of the mining crew and the mine superintendent, A.J. Schumacher, standing second from the right.
    • Parrot Mine Shop Electricians

    • 1950
    • Mines
    • Image of electricians at the Parrot Mine shop, owned by the Anaconda Copper Mining Company. Individuals are listed, as follows, from left to right: First row: Dolly Baker, W.E. Hoskins, Sylvester Sullivan, Emmett Kyser, Jim Leary, Al Carey, &...
    • Parrot Mine Yard

    • 1930
    • Mines
    • Image of a new pickup truck in the Parrot Mine yard, located just below the famous Neversweat Mine. Note the Anaconda Mine ore bins just west of the Neversweat Mine ore bins.
    • Parrot Mine Yard & Butte Mines Machine Shop

    • 1955
    • Mines
    • Image of the Anaconda Copper Mining Company's Butte Mines Machine Shop, including the mine's superintendent, shift foremen, assistant foremen, and shift bosses. The shop was located in the Parrot Mine yard. Dated in October 1955.
    • Parrot Smelter

    • 1896
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Smelter during its construction. Smelter was located south of Whitehall on the Jefferson River.
    • Parrot Smelter

    • 1898
    • Mines
    • Image taken at the Parrot Smelter. Note the elevated tracks leading to the smelter.
    • Parrot Smelter

    • 1890
    • Mines
    • Image of the interior of the Parrot Smelter blacksmith shop.
    • Parrot Smelter

    • 1898
    • Mines
    • Image of the Parrot Smelter exterior and railroad tracks leading to smelter.
    • Parrot Smelter

    • 1898
    • Mines
    • Image of the transport belt at the Parrot Smelter.
    • Parrot Smelter

    • 1898
    • Mines
    • Image of the concentrator at the Parrot Smelter.
    • Parrot Smelter

    • 1890
    • Mines
    • Image of the crusher room at the Parrot Smelter.
    • Parrot Smelter

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image taken of the interior of the Parrot Smelter.
    • Pittsmont Mine

    • 1900
    • Mines
    • Image of the Pittsmont Mine #2 shaft and smelter in East Butte. Note the Parrot Smelter in the background.
    • Richest Hill in the World

    • 1910
    • Mines
    • Postcard image of the 'Richest Hill in the World.' Headframes on the hill are listed, as follows, from left to right: the High Ore Mine, the Nipper Mine, the Parnell Mine, the L.E.R. Mine, the Original Mine #6 shaft, the Mountain View Mine, the...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK