Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: street
(610 results)



Display: 100

    • Aerial view of Lewistown, Montana

    • 1954
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Spring Street is in the foreground and the Montana Center for the Aged is on the right in the background.
    • Aerial view of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of Lewistown looking north east. Main Street runs through the center of the photo and the Fergus County Courthouse can be seen in the center left.
    • Albrecht Dodge garage.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located on the corner of 1st Avenue and Janeaux Street.
    • American House Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The American House Hotel (built 1896 burned 1902) located on the southeast corner of Main Street and 6th Ave. South, Lewistown, MT. The first Courthouse is shown on the middle of the photo in the horizon. To the right is the construction of the...
    • Apple's Dairy, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Dairies;
    • Located on North East Main Street. St. Joseph's Hospital shows in the center background and the old flour mill shows on the far right side of the photo.
    • Ark Exchange Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Ark Exchange was a used furniture store. The building in the background is the Wise Block was located on the 500 block of Main Street. It was built in 1911 and burned in 1959.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Iwas built in 1904 and located at 223 W. Main. It was used as the bank until they built a new building across Main Street at 224 W. Main in 1917
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Bank of Fergus County (built in 1904) located at 223 W. Main. It was used by the bank until they moved across Main Street to 224 W. Main in 1917.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 223 W. Main, the building on the right was the Bank of Fergus County. It was built in 1882-83. It burned in 1904 and was rebuilt in 1905. Later the bank built the Montana Building across the street and moved in 1917. The building on the...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located 223 W. Main. The building faces Main Street with its west side facing Third Avenue South. this is the second building occupied by the Bank of Fergus County. Note that the picture was taken before the streets were paved in 1913. Looking NE
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1898
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 223 W. Main, the building on the right was the Bank of Fergus County. It was built in 1886-87. It burned in 1904 and was rebuilt in 1905. Later the bank built the Montana Building across the street and moved in 1917. The Lewistown Hotel...
    • Bertrand and Laux's store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Joseph Bertrand came to Lewistown in 1887, as an employee of T. C. Power & Bros.; in 1896 he began merchandising for himself. His business may have been in the 200 block on Main Street (north side)
    • Big Stone Barn livery stable

    •  
    • Stables;
    • It was located on the corner of 1st Avenue South and Janeaux Street. It faced 1st Avenue South. Pinkley and Deaton had a livery stable there in 1911. It was later the E. B. Andrus wholesale store (1930). At one time it was a roller skating rink.
    • Bourke Implement, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1975
    • Buildings;
    • Bourke Implement was located on the corner of 4th and Janeaux, Lewistown, Montana. The building was built around 1902-03.
    • Branson, Alexander

    •  
    • Barbers;
    • In July 1887, Branson filed a claim for 160 acres on the west fork of Beaver Creek, southwest of Lewistown. Branson completed proving up his homestead on July 11, 1892, and he received patent to 160 acres. He had other land in the same area and...
    • Bright Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Bright Hotel was located on the northeast corner of 6th Avenue and Main Street. The lower left section of the building was built in 1906 and the rest was built in 1908. The Bright Hotel became the Burke Hotel in 1923-1924.The building burned in...
    • Bright Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Bright Hotel was located on the northwest corner of 6th Avenue and Main Street. The lower left section of the building was built in 1906 and the rest was built in 1908. The Bright Hotel became the Burke Hotel in 1924.The building burned in 1959.
    • Bright-Burke Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Buildings;Hotels;
    • View from the 600 block of Main Street. The Bright Hotel is the large building on the left. It was later called the Burke Hotel.
    • Burning textbooks, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1918-03-27
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The burning of German textbooks (from the high school) on Main Street, Lewistown, Montana, March 27, 1918.
    • Busy Corner Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of the corner of 4th Avenue South and Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. View also shows Sweitzer's Department Store (built in 1913) at 311-315 W. Main.
    • Busy Corner Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the south side of the 300 block on Main Street from the corner of 4th Avenue. The Busy Corner (located at 323 W. Main) was a confectionary store. Men and women are standing on the corner and a few are crossing the street on a boardwalk. The...
    • C. F. Little Jewelry Store and Hobensack and Sloan store.

    •  
    •  
    • Two buildings on the NW corner of Main Street and 3rd Ave North, Lewistown, Montana. Hobensack and Sloan Hardware Store on the left and C.F. Little Jewelry on the right. Part of the Bon Ton Store is shown on the far left. A stagecoach is traveling...
    • Carnegie Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • This photgraph shows the Carnegie Public Library (built 1905), Blackford residence (built 1909) and the Rowley House (south side of the 700 block on Main Street). The building on the far right was the May Apartments building built in 1902 at 803 W....
    • Cars parked in middle of Main Street, Lewistown, MT

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View from the 600 block of Main Street, Lewistown, MT. Creel Funeral Home (built 1913) on the right was originally the Marsh the Homemaker store. The Burke Hotel (built1906 as the Bright Hotel) is the large building on the left. An electric...
    • Cat Creek Oil Field

    •  
    • Oil;
    • Main Street Frantztown. Oil was discovered numerous times in Montana prior to 1919, but it wasn't until Frantz Oil Corp. struck "black gold" in December 1919 that the industry began to boom. The Denver-based company found the high-quality crude at...
    • Catholic Church, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Located on the corner of Broadway Street and 2nd Avenue North. Built in 1915. View shows the arched windows on the side of the church.
    • Catholic Church, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Catholic Church (built in 1887) located on the corner of Miller and Watson streets. It was used until a new Catholic Church was built on Broadway Street in 1915.
    • Central Montana Historical Association Museum, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Central Montana Historical Association Museum building, 408 NE Main Street. It was built in 1956. Originally the museum was in the Civic Center. The dates on the windows refer to the Chamber of Commerce which is housed in the museum building.
    • Charles Lehman and Co., Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lehman's Department Store; Golden Rule Store;
    • View of Main Street shows the Charles Lehman Co Department Store on the corner of Main and 5th Ave North, Lewistown, MT. The Golden Rule Store is next to it followed by the Day House. Telephone lines on each side of the street represent 2 different...
    • Charlie's Body Works, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Later was called Charlie's Paint and Glass. Originally the building was Baker and Sons, blacksmith's. It was loacted on the corner of Janeaux Street and 3rd Ave. South.
    • Children in school yard, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1888
    •  
    • Lewistown Main Street. The first school house is on the right side with school children in yard next to the school. A fence surrounds the school and yard. Main Street is in front of the school. Judith Mountains are in the background.
    • City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1910
    • Fire Department; City Hall;
    • The City Hall of Lewistown was located on the corner of Watson Street and 4th Avenue. It was built in 1904 and demolished in 1983.
    • City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The City Hall of Lewistown was located on the corner of Watson Street and 4th Avenue. It was built in 1904 and demolished in 1983.
    • City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The City Hall of Lewistown was located on the corner of Watson Street and 4th Avenue. It was built in 1904 and demolished in 1983. Back of the building.
    • City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The City Hall of Lewistown was located on the corner of Watson Street and 4th Avenue. It was built in 1904 and demolished in 1983. View from Watson Street.
    • City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The City Hall of Lewistown was located on the corner of Watson Street and 4th Avenue. It was built in 1904 and demolished in 1983. Back portion of the building.
    • City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Fire wagon at city hall. The City Hall of Lewistown was located on the corner of Watson Street and 4th Avenue. It was built in 1904 and demolished in 1983. Horses names were Jess and Jean.
    • City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Fire department. The City Hall of Lewistown was located on the corner of Watson Street and 4th Avenue. It was built in 1904 and demolished in 1983. Horses names were Jess and Jean.
    • City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located on the corner of Watson Street and 4th Avenue South. It was built in 1904.
    • City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Fire wagon pulled by horses and a fire truck coming out of the City Hall. It was built in 1904 and located on the corner of 4th Avenue South and Watson Street.
    • Cook-Reynolds Company Building, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Theaters; Real Estate; Western Union;
    • It was built in 1904. Located on the corner of Main Street and 3rd Avenue South. The Western Union office is located in the Judith Theater (built 1914) building next door.
    • Cooley Chevrolet, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Automobile Dealers;
    • Owned by Charles Cooley. Located on the corner of Broadway Street and 1st Avenue NorthBuilding is under construction.
    • Corner of 6th and Pine Street, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Dr. J. Theodore Brice;
    • View on 6th Avenue South where it intersects with Pine Street. The Brice Hospital (built 1919) on Pine Street can be seen above the parked car. Dr Brice lived in the house to the right of the hospital. The Brice Hospital later became the Pine Crest...
    • Corner of Main Street and 3rd Ave, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Montana Building is the tall white building (built 1917) on left. The Power Bros Building (built 1901) is the smaller building on the left. It was built by the Croatian Stonemasons from local sandstone. The tall white building on the right...
    • Corner view of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Telephone Office is on the corner of 5th Avenue North and Broadway Street. The building on the right is the Ford Garage on Broadway Street.
    • Corner view of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View to the left is from 8th Avenue looking down Main Street and to the right is looking down 8th Avenue South.
    • Court House, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Image shows the Fergus County Court House area and the Carnegie Library across the street on the corner of Main Street and 7th Ave. South.
    • Cummings, Frank L.

    •  
    • World War l; Textbook burning;
    • Frank L. Cummings was principal of the Fergus County High School, Lewistown, Montana from 1916-1923. He trained at the University of Chicago where he earned both his A.B. and A.M. degrees. To accommodate the farm boys who could not attend the full...
    • Dark Horse Stables, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Stables;
    • Dark Horse Stables located on the corner of 5th Avenue and Janeaux Street, Lewistown, Montana. A sign over the entryway reads: Baled Hay for Sale.
    • Day House at Reedsfort.

    •  
    • Reedsfort; Frank Day; Jacob Holzemer;
    • The Day House was built by Frank Day and Jacob Holzemer. Reedsfort was one of the earliest settlements in the area which blended with the settlement of Lewistown to become one town. The Day House was moved from Reedsfort to the corner of Main...
    • Day House hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Day House Hotel (built in 1880's at Reeds Fort) was located on the corner of 4th Avenue North and Main Street. It had been moved from Reeds Fort to this location and in 1908 it was moved to the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North. A balcony...
    • Day House Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Day House Hotel (built in 1880's at Reedsfort) was located on the corner of 4th Avenue North and Main Street. It had been moved from Reeds Fort to this location and in 1908 it was moved to the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North. A balcony...
    • Day House Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Day House Hotel (built in 1880's at Reedsfort) was located on the corner of 4th Avenue North and Main Street. It had been moved (1886) from Reedsfort to this location and in 1908 it was moved to the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North....
    • Day, Frank

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Frank Day came to Fergus County in 1882 and bought 120 acres of land from Major Reed at Reedsfort. He built the old and popular Day House Hotel at Reedsfort and later moved it to Lewistown at the corner of Main Street and 4th Avenue North. He...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK