Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: is
(510 results)



Display: 100

    • Aerial view of Lewistown, Montana

    • 1954
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Spring Street is in the foreground and the Montana Center for the Aged is on the right in the background.
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Aerial view of St. Joseph's hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • American House Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The American House Hotel (built 1896 burned 1902) located on the southeast corner of Main Street and 6th Ave. South, Lewistown, MT. The first Courthouse is shown on the middle of the photo in the horizon. To the right is the construction of the...
    • Anderson, Peter

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Peter Anderson came to Montana in 1873 from Norway. He did placer mining in Helena and Butte. He moved to Central Montana in 1882 and married Marie Slotten, his childhood sweetheart from Norway on July 22, 1883. They lived four miles west of...
    • Anderson, Sally

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Sally Anderson was the daughter of Reece Anderson and Mary Payette. She was born August 5, 1866 in Deer Lodge, Montana. She is buried at the Fort Maginnis Cemetery.
    • Anderson, Sally

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Sally Anderson was the daughter of Reece Anderson and Mary Payette. She was born August 5, 1866 in Deer Lodge, Montana. She is buried at the Fort Maginnis Cemetery.
    • Anderson, Sam and his wife

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Sam Anderson and his wife. He died July 28, 1912 in Lewistown at 57 years of age and is buried in the Lewistown City Cemetery.
    • Ark Exchange Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Ark Exchange was a used furniture store. The building in the background is the Wise Block was located on the 500 block of Main Street. It was built in 1911 and burned in 1959.
    • Arro oil refinery; Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Arro Oil;
    • Arro Oil Refinerery is shown from the air. It was located on lower Spring Creek near Lewistown, Montana. The refinery started in 1921.
    • Arro Oil Refinery on Spring Creek, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1940
    • Arro oil refinery;
    • Arro Oil Refinery is shown in the distance. It was located on Lower Spring Creek, Lewistown, MT. Railroad track in the foreground, Spring Creek is next to the railroad track with a bridge crossing over it. The Moccasin Mountains are in the...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 223 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 221 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Freighting;
    • Team of horses pulling freight in front of the Bank of Fergus County (built 1904) on the south side of the 200 block, Lewistown, Montana. Sweitzer's Department Store is next to the bank. The DeKalb Harness store is in the middle of the block.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 223 W. Main, the building on the right was the Bank of Fergus County. It was built in 1882-83. It burned in 1904 and was rebuilt in 1905. Later the bank built the Montana Building across the street and moved in 1917. The building on the...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located 223 W. Main. The building faces Main Street with its west side facing Third Avenue South. this is the second building occupied by the Bank of Fergus County. Note that the picture was taken before the streets were paved in 1913. Looking NE
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1904
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Bank of Fergus county is on the right. Lewistown Hotel was built in 1882-83 by Frank Moshner for Judge Toombs. It was later owned by Mr. Hortop. At the time it burned in 1904 it was owned by Frank E. Wright. The Bank of Fergus County was damaged to...
    • Barnes-King Gold Mine

    •  
    •  
    • Barnes-King gold mine was located in the North Moccasin Mountains near Lewistown, MT. The Barnes-King Development Company mined the area in 1901-1925. The mine is on the left side of the photo and 4 cars are in the middle.
    • Beaver Creek Church, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Brother Van, Methodist Circuit Preacher is seated with church congregation. He is the man with the hat in the second row.
    • Bell, Fred

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Fred Bell was born in 1883 and came to Lewistown in 1910 due to the homestead act. He came from St. Paul Minnesota and worked in the Empire Bank and Trust Co. In 1911 he went to Minnesota to marry Mary Martinson. Their daughter is Mrs Elton Parrish...
    • Boy Scouts, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Boy Scouts;
    • Boy Scout troop and their leader. One boy is holding a flag with a wolf on it and the other boy has a flag with an eagle on it. The boy in the back row far right is Harold Slater. All are dressed in uniforms.
    • Brewery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Lewistown Brewery just south of Lewistown was built by in 1894 by John Laux. It was built with locally quarried sandstone. A wooden fence is in the foreground of the photo with two signs on the fence that say ""CULVER'S MILLINERY"". The...
    • Brice Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals;
    • Brice Hospital. It was built by George W. Taylor between the years 1914 and 1917 and completed in 1919. The Brice Hospital was an impressive two-story red brick structure with a day-lighted basement and rooms on the third floor (attic). It was...
    • Brice Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The Brice Hospital (built 1919) was located at 614 W. Pine. It was built by Dr. Theodore J. Brice. It later became the Pine Crest Apartments. The old gymnasium for the high school is in the background on the left.
    • Brickyard, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The first plant owed its start and success primarily to one man, John Gretencort. It was this man who was the expert on clay products and was the general manager from 1911 until 1941. The swimming pool is seen in the background.
    • Bright Hotel, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Drays;
    • Front view of the Bright Hotel (built 1906). It became the Burke Hotel in 1924. Scovel's Transfer was an early dray business in Lewistown, Montana. A sign saying Private Secretary is on the side of the wagon. The Bright Hotel became the Burke Hotel...
    • Bright-Burke Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Buildings;Hotels;
    • View from the 600 block of Main Street. The Bright Hotel is the large building on the left. It was later called the Burke Hotel.
    • Brooks block, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Brooks building is located at 207 W. Main. It was originally built in 1913. Side of the building being refurbished by Valach Construction
    • C. F. Little Jewelry Store and Hobensack and Sloan store.

    •  
    •  
    • Two buildings on the NW corner of Main Street and 3rd Ave North, Lewistown, Montana. Hobensack and Sloan Hardware Store on the left and C.F. Little Jewelry on the right. Part of the Bon Ton Store is shown on the far left. A stagecoach is traveling...
    • Careless Creek School, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Interior view of the Careless Creek school. Four children are seated at a table and the teacher is standing at the table. Five pictures are on the wall and the blackboard has writing on it.
    • Carnegie Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • The first Lincoln School is shown in the background on the left. The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney,...
    • Cars parked in middle of Main Street, Lewistown, MT

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View from the 600 block of Main Street, Lewistown, MT. Creel Funeral Home (built 1913) on the right was originally the Marsh the Homemaker store. The Burke Hotel (built1906 as the Bright Hotel) is the large building on the left. An electric...
    • Carson's Saloon, Lewistown, MT

    •  
    •  
    • Built in 1893, the Carson's Saloon building became the Bon Ton Confectionary in 1908. It's location is 312 W. Main.
    • CCC truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • CCC (Civilian Conservation Corps);
    • The truck is parked on the 100 block of 5th Avenue North, Lewistown, Montana
    • Central Montana Historical Association Museum, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Central Montana Historical Association Museum building, 408 NE Main Street. It was built in 1956. Originally the museum was in the Civic Center. The dates on the windows refer to the Chamber of Commerce which is housed in the museum building.
    • Central Montana Scenery

    •  
    •  
    • Looking west up Maiden Canyon; the rock formation on the right is a landmark called Elephant's Head.
    • Charles Lehman and Co., Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lehman's Department Store; Golden Rule Store;
    • View of Main Street shows the Charles Lehman Co Department Store on the corner of Main and 5th Ave North, Lewistown, MT. The Golden Rule Store is next to it followed by the Day House. Telephone lines on each side of the street represent 2 different...
    • Children in school yard, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1888
    •  
    • Lewistown Main Street. The first school house is on the right side with school children in yard next to the school. A fence surrounds the school and yard. Main Street is in front of the school. Judith Mountains are in the background.
    • City Hall and Spring Creek, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Spring Creek;
    • City Hall and fire station (built 1904), Lewistown, Montana, located at 308 4th Avenue South. The view of the building is from Spring Creek which meanders around the building from the southeast side.
    • Class of 1906, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1906
    •  
    • View of seventeen members of the Fergus High School class of 1906. Each person is holding a diploma. Back row: Georgia Stuart, Charles Groupe, Elizabeth Phillips, Etheta Daugherty, Henrietta Von Tobel, Ann Hobensack, Madge Eldridge; Center row:...
    • Construction of the Power Mercantile Co., Lewistown, Montana

    • 1901
    • Power Mercantile Co.;
    • Beginning of the construction of the Power Mercantile Building, 302 W. Main, Lewistown, Montana in 1901. The floor is laid and a partial wall of locally quarried sandstone is on the right side. Part of the Montana Hardware building is on the right.
    • Cook-Reynolds Company Building, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Theaters; Real Estate; Western Union;
    • It was built in 1904. Located on the corner of Main Street and 3rd Avenue South. The Western Union office is located in the Judith Theater (built 1914) building next door.
    • Cooley Chevrolet, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Automobile Dealers;
    • Owned by Charles Cooley. Located on the corner of Broadway Street and 1st Avenue NorthBuilding is under construction.
    • Corner of Main Street and 3rd Ave, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Montana Building is the tall white building (built 1917) on left. The Power Bros Building (built 1901) is the smaller building on the left. It was built by the Croatian Stonemasons from local sandstone. The tall white building on the right...
    • Corner view of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Telephone Office is on the corner of 5th Avenue North and Broadway Street. The building on the right is the Ford Garage on Broadway Street.
    • Corner view of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View to the left is from 8th Avenue looking down Main Street and to the right is looking down 8th Avenue South.
    • Cox, Jabez and Eliza

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Jabez Cox grew up in Penzance, Cornwall, England. He came the the U.S. with his brother-in-law, George Davies. He and his wife were married in Braddock, Pa. on March 9, 1893. He worked as a stonemason and a bricklayer. He built the Lewistown...
    • Crowley Block, Lewistown, Montana. 311 W. Main.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View shows the building from the back as it was being constructed. It was owned by Annie Crowley. The building next to it is the back of the Warr-Lane building as it was being constructed also. They were built in 1913.
    • Culver Home and Studio, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1892
    • Photographers;
    • Culver Studio is on the left and the Culver home is on the right. William Culver was the first photographer to set up a business in Lewistown. He moved to Lewistown from Maiden, Montana in 1886.
    • Culver Studio and home, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Photographers;
    • Located at 212 5th Avenue North. William H. Culver was the first photographer to set up a business in Lewistown in 1886. He moved to Lewistown from Maiden, Montana where he had been the photographer from 1883-1886. Culver's original home is on the...
    • Dahl's Shoe Shop, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • Arne Dahl owned this shoe shop at 102 W. Main in the 1904 Polk Directory and 105 4th Avenue North in the 1922 Polk Directory. It is not known which building this is.
    • Day House at Reedsfort.

    •  
    • Reedsfort; Frank Day; Jacob Holzemer;
    • The Day House was built by Frank Day and Jacob Holzemer. Reedsfort was one of the earliest settlements in the area which blended with the settlement of Lewistown to become one town. The Day House was moved from Reedsfort to the corner of Main...
    • Day House hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Day House Hotel (built in 1880's at Reeds Fort) was located on the corner of 4th Avenue North and Main Street. It had been moved from Reeds Fort to this location and in 1908 it was moved to the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North. A balcony...
    • DeMolay Band, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • DeMolay;
    • Members of the Demolay Band in front of the Masonic Temple building, Lewistown, Montana. Harold Slater is holding a trombone (right side of the right pillar)
    • Early Maiden, Montana

    •  
    • Maiden, Montana
    • Looking north up Main Street of the gold mining town of Maiden in the Judith Mountains. Montana Street is in the foreground.
    • Early Pioneers at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Travois; T. C. Power & Bro;
    • Early pioneers standing in front of T.C. Power Bro. Co. store on the corner of Main Street and 3rd Ave., Lewistown, Mont. Two people are in front of the store and one person is standing near a covered wagon (may be a Metis cart). One horse is...
    • Elephants on parade, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Circus parade on Main Street at the corner of 5th Avenue South and Main Street. The tall building on the left is the Fergus County Argus newspaper office, built in 1896 and replaced in 1913. The Lewistown Furniture Co. building address was 102-104...
    • Elkhorn Saloon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Elkhorn Saloon;
    • Men standing at the bar of the Elk Horn Saloon (123 W. Main). The man with his foot on the rail is Ed Martin, Sheriff of Fergus County, Montana. Schlitz beer sign is hanging on the wall. An elk head is mounted on the wall also. Four spitoons are on...
    • Empire Building, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • War Bonds;
    • View of the Empire building (built 1909) located on the corner of Main Street and 4th Avenue North. Empire Bank and Trust Co. Liberty Bonds banner is wrapped around two sides of the building.
    • Fairgrounds, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Palais Royal Confectionery;
    • An advertisement for the Palais Royal confectionery is on the board wall of the fairgrounds.
    • Fergus County Argus office, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Halsey Watson;
    • Interior of the Fergus County Argus newspaper office (built 1896) located at 423 W. Main, Lewistown, MT. Halsey Watson is seated at a desk and Mrs. Reeder is standing at a work table. A mounted eagle is on the wall.
    • Fergus County Courthouse

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Men working on the side of the Courthouse where the old Courthouse once stood. The Carnegie Library is seen in the background.
    • Fergus County Courthouse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Courthouses; Jails;
    • The Courthouse was built in 1908-1909. It is located at 712 W. Main. The jail is the small building on the left and the old Courthouse shows on the right.
    • Fergus County Courthouse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Courthouses;
    • View from 8th Avenue North looking towards the back of the Courthouse. The houses in the left foreground face Broadway Street. The house to the right of the Courthouse in the background is the Blackford Residence at 713 W. Main.
    • Fergus County Courthouse, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Courthouses;
    • View from the top of a home in the 800 block of Lewistown, Montana looking NW. In the center of the photo is the steeple of the Methodist Church located on Broadway Street. In the foreground is the Lehman house on the corner of Main Street and 8th...
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the Fergus County Free High School (built 1899 and burned by arsonists 1918) it was located in the 400 block on 6th Avenue South. The building on the distant right is the first Lincoln School in the 200 block of 6th Avenue South.
    • Fergus County Poor Farm, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Reed and Bowles Trading Post; Carroll Trail; Poor Farms;
    • The Fergus County Poor Farm was located near Spring Creek off the Joyland Road near Lewistown, MT. The barn for the poor farm has a sign on the top that reads "County Farm". To the right of the barn is the main building of the poor farm. In the...
    • Fergus Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Fergus Hotel;
    • The Fergus Hotel was located at the corner of Janeaux and 3rd Ave South. It was built around 1912 and burned on August 9, 1970. Photo is on a postcard
    • Fire wagon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Fire wagon pulled by two horses on the 500 block of Janeaux Street, Lewistown, MT. The first Presbyterian Church (built 1892 and torn down in 1892) is in the background, it was located on the corner of Janeaux and 5th Avenue South.
    • Firemen at City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • City Hall and fire station (built 1904) on the left at 308 4th Avenue South. A tall scaffolding is in the center with fire men practicing climbing the walls of the scaffold.
    • First Fergus County High School

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The gymnasium is the building on the left. The High School was built in 1899 and burned by arsonists in 1918.
    • First National Bank, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Judith Basin Bank; McDonald and Charters building;
    • Block of buildings at 502-506, W. Main, Lewistown, MT. The building on the right (with awnings on the corner door and front window) housed the First National Bank (formerly called the Judith Basin Bank). It was built in1899. The building next to it...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK