Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: house
(137 results)



Display: 100

    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • 707 W. Boulevard. Originally owned by John Bright as his carriage house and stables. Built in 1902.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • A parade on Main Street of Lewistown as seen from the south side of the 400 block. The Day House (with the balcony) was located on the corner of Main Street and 4th Ave. North. It was moved from Reedsfort to this location until 1908 and then it was...
    • Maiden, Montana

    • 1883
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • A residence, laundry and a boarding house. “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe” and Jones...
    • Sappire mine area.

    •  
    •  
    • Boarding house at English Mine, Yogo, Montana. It was located on the east side of the Little Belt Mountains. Yogo sapphires are well known for their corn-flower blue color.
    • Court House, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1908
    •  
    • Both the old Fergus County Courthouse (built 1890 and the new Court House (built 1908) are side by side at 712 W. Main.
    • Brice Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals;
    • Brice Hospital. It was built by George W. Taylor between the years 1914 and 1917 and completed in 1919. The Brice Hospital was an impressive two-story red brick structure with a day-lighted basement and rooms on the third floor (attic). It was...
    • Red River Carts on 5th Avenue, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Metis; Red River Carts;
    • Carts are in front of Dr. W. F. Hanson's office located on 5th Avenue South 1 block east of Main Street. George T. Bach and his sister Emily are on the front porch. The house on the far right is Frank Moshner's and next to it was the Methodist...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • B. F. Goodrich Co.;
    • Corner of Main Street (east) and 1st Avenue. The building with the pointed roof on the right was the B & H Grocery (formerly the Culver Opera House).
    • Flood, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1920-07-04
    • Culver Opera House;
    • Culver Opera House is the building behind the car in the middle of the photo. It was built in 1887 by William Culver who was the first photographer in Lewistown in 1886.
    • Lewistown Dairy, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown Dairy; Dairies;
    • Dairy wagons with Carl Kuhne and Alex Fah. Beat John Kuhne was born on January 10, 1882, in Benken, St. Gallen, Switzerland. He immigrated to Montana in 1906 at the age of 24. He came to the Lewistown area at the urging of the former Joe King and...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • David Hilger's home at 706 W. Boulevard. This house was originally built at Fort Maginnis which existed 1880-1890. The house was dismantled and moved to this site in Lewistown.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • David Hilger's home at 706 W. Boulevard. This house was originally built at Fort Maginnis which existed 1880-1890. The house was dismantled and moved to this site in Lewistown.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • David Hilger's home at 706 W. Boulevard. This house was originally built at Fort Maginnis which existed 1880-1890. The house was dismantled and moved to this site in Lewistown.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Demolition of the plant. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Dockery House, 1105 W. Main. It was built in 1912 for Jefferson Albert (J.H.) Akins and his wife, Louise Cresap Akins. J.H. Akins owned the Golden Rule store. The Akins moved to Montana from Missouri in 1896 or ’97, first to Deer Lodge, then to...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Dr. Arter W. Deal residence 415 W. Boulevard. This house was originally from Fort Maginnis which existed from 1880-1890.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Dr. Arter W. Deal residence 415 W. Boulevard. This house was originally from Fort Maginnis which existed from 1880-1890.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Dr. Arter W. Deal residence 415 W. Boulevard. This house was originally from Fort Maginnis which existed from 1880-1890.
    • Utica, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Far left, Charlie Waite house (formerly William Culver’s Photograph Studio). Judith Hotel, Silver Dollar Saloon, Utica Livery stable behind saloon (large building in the middle). Large building on the right is H. G. Phillips Store downstairs and...
    • Parade on Main Street.

    •  
    • Parades Lewistown, Montana;
    • Fife and drum players in parade. View of the Day House Hotel on the right side of the photo.
    • First School House, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • First school house (built 1883) located at 521 W. Main. The teacher and all the students are in a group next to the school posing for the photo. The teacher is holding an American flag. Some of the children are holding bouquets of flowers.
    • Flood on Janeaux Street Lewistown Montana

    • 1920-07-04
    • Floods;
    • Flood July 4, 1920. The Milwaukee Depot and Freight House are at the center end of the street. The Lewistown Wholesale Co. (formerly the Big Red Barn) is on the left.
    • Flood July 4, 1920 Lewistown Montana

    • 1920-07-04
    • Floods;
    • Flood on Main Street Lewistown Montana. Milner's Transfer building on the right is located on the NE corner of Main Street and 1 Ave South. The Culver Opera House is the third building from the left with the pointed roof.
    • Day, Frank

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Frank Day came to Fergus County in 1882 and bought 120 acres of land from Major Reed at Reedsfort. He built the old and popular Day House Hotel at Reedsfort and later moved it to Lewistown at the corner of Main Street and 4th Avenue North. He...
    • Maiden, Montana

    • 1939
    • Maiden, Montana; Frank Bryant.;
    • George Wieglenda purchased this house in Maiden in 1905. It was his residence and assay office. He let Frank and Della Bryant live in it in the 30's and 40's. It was moved by Pat Hanley in 1980 and is still located in Maiden. “Skookum Joe”...
    • Morton, Glen

    •  
    •  
    • Glen Morton was born at Hopeville, Iowa, in 1888. In 1909 Morton arrived in Lewistown on the old Jawbone Railroad. The next day he climbed aboard a Nelson Stage Coach bound for Kendall where he got a job at T. R. Matlock's general store. The...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Hanover was built to house the workers of the Three Forks Cement Plant. The photo shows the rows of homes that were built across the highway from the cement plant. It also shows the Hanover Post Office/Mercantile Company building on the left side.
    • Brassey, Edward

    •  
    • Edward Brassey;
    • He was born in England Oct 22, 1844. Mr. Brassey came to the present site of Lewistown in the early fall of 1881 in the capacity of school teacher and later taught the first term of public school which was organized in the section which now...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    • 1977
    •  
    • Home located at the corner of Washington and 5th Avenue North. It was the first school house moved from the 500 block on Main Street to this location and turned into a home. It was later moved to the Joyland Road.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Homes on the 300 block of Montana Street. Oliver Belden lived at 322 W. Montana which may be the 2nd house from the left.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Huntoon home at 722 W. Water. He was an attorney in business with William Blackford. The house was later owned by the Didier family. It was built in 1916.
    • Court House, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Image shows the Fergus County Court House area and the Carnegie Library across the street on the corner of Main Street and 7th Ave. South.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for its workers to stay. ...
    • Empire Building.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • It was built in 1908 on the corner of Main Street and 4th Avenue North. The Day House Hotel can be seen in the background.
    • B&H Grocery, located at 114 E. Main.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • It was formerly the Culver Opera House built by William Culver (the first photographer to this area) before 1900.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • James Cor¬coran built the house in 1897. He built it for his new wife, Anna Trepp, who was the widow of an 1860 pioneer, Martin Trepp. Mr. Corcoran built the house in Lewistown as an exact replica of a fifteen room brick house he had built and...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • James Corcoran built the house in 1897. He built it for his new wife, Anna Trepp, who was the widow of an 1860 pioneer, Martin Trepp. Mr. Corcoran built the house in Lewistown as an exact replica of a fifteen room brick house he had built and lived...
    • Ritch, Johnnie

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • John B. Ritch was born December 1, 1868, in North Carolina. When he was 15 he went to Texas and became a cowboy. He came to Montana in 1885 and rode the Judith Basin county range for several early-day cattle outfits. He later engaged in the mining...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Kendall.
    • Kendall mine and hoist house. The Kendall, the North Moccasin, and the Barnes King are three famous old gold mines in Fergus County, Montana. Located adjoingingly in the North Moccasin Mountains, they cover the mineral zone for a distance of three...
    • Kendall, Montana

    • 1909
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana; Harry T. Kendall; North Moccasin Mountains;
    • Lee Hiliard (left) and E. P. Durnen in front of White House Cafe.“Harry T. Kendall, a prospector and visionary, bought a couple of claims in the North Moccasin Mountains in 1898. In 1900, a new corporation, the Kendall Gold Mining Company, was...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Lewistown as seen from the 400 block of Broadway Street. The Methodist Church (built 1905, burned 1976) is on the right. The Judith Steam Laundry is on the left next to the Day House. The Burke Hotel (1906-1959) located on Main Street shows in the...
    • Freight team at Culver Studio, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Freighting;
    • Lewistown as seen from the southwest. A freight team is in the center of the photo next to the Culver Studio. The Moshner house is #1. Beyond the Culver Studio is the Methodist Church (#2). A Hall is #3. The Day House is #4. The Bank of Fergus...
    • Lewistown Dairy, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown Dairy; Dairies;
    • Lewistown dairy from a distance. Beat John Kuhne was born on January 10, 1882, in Benken, St. Gallen, Switzerland. He immigrated to Montana in 1906 at the age of 24. He came to the Lewistown area at the urging of the former Joe King and worked as a...
    • Lewistown Dairy Wagon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Lewistown Dairy wagon. Beat John Kuhne was born on January 10, 1882, in Benken, St. Gallen, Switzerland. He immigrated to Montana in 1906 at the age of 24. He came to the Lewistown area at the urging of the former Joe King and worked as a hand for...
    • Children in school yard, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1888
    •  
    • Lewistown Main Street. The first school house is on the right side with school children in yard next to the school. A fence surrounds the school and yard. Main Street is in front of the school. Judith Mountains are in the background.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Lewistown Main Street. The school house (1#) is on the right side and the Methodist Church (#4) is on the far left side of the photo. F.E. Carr home (#2). Hall (3#). Fergus Argus Printing office (#5). Judith Mountains are in the background.
    • Maiden, Montana

    • 1940
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • Looking towards the south east. George and Helen Wieglenda residence upper right-white house. “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the...
    • Moore, Montana

    •  
    • Moore, Montana;
    • Main Street of Moore, Montana. Various signs on the buildings read: David Drug Co.; M & M Buffet; The Moore Mercantile Co.; State Bank; and Catlin's Restaurant Chop House. The Moore School is at the end of the street.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Main Street showing the Lehman House (800 block) and the courthouse (700 block).
    • Clingan, Mary Simpson

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Mary Simpson Clingan was born May 4, 1880 and died April 26, 1981. In 1916 they lived near Rock Creek near Lewisdtown, Montana. During the depression they moved to Lewistown, Montana where she operated a rooming house and later moved to 422 W....
    • Kendall, Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana; Harry T. Kendall; North Moccasin Mountains;
    • McCormick's House. “Harry T. Kendall, a prospector and visionary, bought a couple of claims in the North Moccasin Mountains in 1898. In 1900, a new corporation, the Kendall Gold Mining Company, was formed by Kendall and four other trustees with a...
    • Montana Hardware, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Montana Hardware Company (built 1892) located at 224 W. Main. Various signs are painted on the building: Agents for Majestic, Superior, Charter Oak, Steel Ranges, Silverware, Crockery, Glassware and House Furnishing Goods.
    • Moore, Montana

    •  
    • Moore, Montana; Schools;
    • Moore School house built in 1910. Moore, Montana was named after a Mr. Moore of Philadelphia who rendered financial help to Richard A. Harlow when he was building the Jaw Bone Railroad from Harlowton to Lewistown. Moore’s first post office opened...
    • Daily, Clara

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Mr. and Mrs. Frank Dailey came to Montana in 1882 and lived near Bozeman until 1884 when they came to Fergus County. They came in a covered wagon. They homesteaded on the southeastern edge of Lewistown. They had both range and dairy cattle and sold...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Day House Hotel;
    • North side of the 400 block of Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. Buildings from left to right: Lehman's Department Store, Allen and Robinson Building (built 1903 and top part burned in 1938), 2 unidentified buildings, Day House with balcony...
    • Belden, Oliver

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Oliver Belden was born in Dawson, Neb. Sept 25, 1873 and came to Montana in 1898. He served as City Attorney, then District Attorney and late became speaker of the state House of Representatives. He practiced in Lewistown for 30 years. In 1901 he...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Ralph Reynolds owned this house at the corner of 5th and Washington (422 W. Washington) and later the Clingan family owned it.
    • Van Orsdel, William Wesley

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Rev. William Wesley “Brother Van” Orsdel came to Montana in 1872. He rode horseback through Montana, preaching the Gospel and always carrying a Bible and a hymnal. Brother Van conducted his first Methodist service at Philbrook near present-day...
    • Dissly, Robert

    •  
    • Dissly, Robert;
    • Robert Dissly was born January 30, 1920 to Fred and Mary Dissly in Lewistown, Montana. He graduated in 1938. He married Bernette Stocks in 1952. He was in the Korean War, graduated from the University of Montana and purchased the Glass House which...
    • Von Tobel's carriage house, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1975
    • Rudolph von Tobel;
    • Rudolph Von Tobel's carriage house (originally located at 301 W. Watson). Shows the carriage house before it was moved to become part of the Art Center at 801 W. Broadway.
    • School House, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Schools;
    • School house built on corner of Main Street and 6th Avenue South. It was built in 1883. The building to the right is the first Prebyterian Church on the corner of Janeaux and 5th Avenue South (built 1893 and torn down in 1959)
    • Reedsfort, Lewistown, MT

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Reedsfort, Montana;
    • Sketch of Reedsfort which later became part of Lewistown. It shows the Day House Hotel, Post Office, Dan Crowley Saloon and the Holzemer Saloon.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Spring Creek below Hanover, Montana. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Spring Creek bridge. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was quick to establish a place for...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    • Hanover, Montana; Cement Plants; Gypsum Plants;
    • Stairway leadidng to the town of Hanover, Montana. In approximately 1916, a gypsum quarry and cement plant was established ten miles northwest of Lewistown. With the plant and quarry came the town of Hanover. The company who owned the plant was...
    • American House Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The American House Hotel (built 1896 burned 1902) located on the southeast corner of Main Street and 6th Ave. South, Lewistown, MT. The first Courthouse is shown on the middle of the photo in the horizon. To the right is the construction of the...
    • Moccasin Experimental Station. Moccasin, Montana

    •  
    • Moccasin Experimental Station; Moccasin, Montana;
    • The authority to establish a branch of the Montana Agricultural Experiment Station in the Judith Basin was given in 1907. S.S. Hobson donated the land for it and in 1908 a two-story farm house was constructed on the land. An Additional 480 acres of...
    • Moccasin Experimental Station. Moccasin, Montana

    •  
    • Moccasin Experimental Station; Moccasin, Montana;
    • The authority to establish a branch of the Montana Agricultural Experiment Station in the Judith Basin was given in 1907. S.S. Hobson donated the land for it and in 1908 a two-story farm house was constructed on the land. An Additional 480 acres of...
    • Moccasin Experimental Station. Moccasin, Montana

    • 1928
    • Moccasin Experimental Station; Moccasin, Montana;
    • The authority to establish a branch of the Montana Agricultural Experiment Station in the Judith Basin was given in 1907. S.S. Hobson donated the land for it and in 1908 a two-story farm house was constructed on the land. An additional 480 acres of...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    • 1920-07-04
    • Culver Opera House; W. S. Smith furniture store;
    • The Culver Opera House (later the B & H Grocery) is the building with the pointed roof. W. S. Smith's furniture store also shows. View from the corner of Main Street and 1st Ave looking towards the Judith Mountains.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Culver Studio is the building on the left. The street is 5th Avenue North and the house in the center is across 5th Avenue from the Culver Studio
    • Lewistown Dairy.

    •  
    • Lewistown Dairy, Lewistown, Montana; Dairies;
    • The dairy barn with cows. Beat John Kuhne was born on January 10, 1882, in Benken, St. Gallen, Switzerland. He immigrated to Montana in 1906 at the age of 24. He came to the Lewistown area at the urging of the former Joe King and worked as a hand...
    • Day House hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Day House Hotel (built in 1880's at Reeds Fort) was located on the corner of 4th Avenue North and Main Street. It had been moved from Reeds Fort to this location and in 1908 it was moved to the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North. A balcony...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK