Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: floor
(17 results)



Display: 100

    • A & R (Allen and Robinson) building, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • J. H. Akins; C. H. Williams; Seiden Drug Store; Drug Stores;
    • It was built in 1903 at 416 W. Main. It was the location of the Golden Rule Store owned by J. H. Akins. C.H. Williams, who removed his drug business from Maiden to Lewistown in 1895 established his business in the Allen & Robinson Building in 1904....
    • Brice Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals;
    • Brice Hospital. It was built by George W. Taylor between the years 1914 and 1917 and completed in 1919. The Brice Hospital was an impressive two-story red brick structure with a day-lighted basement and rooms on the third floor (attic). It was...
    • Carnegie Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Libraries;
    • 2nd floor of the Library. Interior of the Library. The “manifest desire” for a public library stirred early in Lewistown, Montana. In January 1897, two full years prior to Lewistown’s incorporation, Frank E. Smith, a local attorney, delivered...
    • Civic Center, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Recreation Centers; WPA;
    • Five years before the start of World War II, the Civic Center was built on Fifth Avenue South between Watson and Water streets. It was built under the Works Progress Administration (WPA) with the understanding that it would serve Lewistown as their...
    • Construction of the Power Mercantile Co., Lewistown, Montana

    • 1901
    • Power Mercantile Co.;
    • Beginning of the construction of the Power Mercantile Building, 302 W. Main, Lewistown, Montana in 1901. The floor is laid and a partial wall of locally quarried sandstone is on the right side. Part of the Montana Hardware building is on the right.
    • Elkhorn Saloon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Elkhorn Saloon;
    • Men standing at the bar of the Elk Horn Saloon (123 W. Main). The man with his foot on the rail is Ed Martin, Sheriff of Fergus County, Montana. Schlitz beer sign is hanging on the wall. An elk head is mounted on the wall also. Four spitoons are on...
    • Judith Basin Bank, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Banks;
    • Located on the corner of 5th Avenue North and Main Street. It was built in 1899. The upper floor housed the Knights of Pythias organization.
    • Kendall, Montana

    • 1902
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana; Harry T. Kendall; North Moccasin Mountains;
    • “Harry T. Kendall, a prospector and visionary, bought a couple of claims in the North Moccasin Mountains in 1898. In 1900, a new corporation, the Kendall Gold Mining Company, was formed by Kendall and four other trustees with a capital stock of...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • South side of the 400 block on Main Street, Lewistown, MT. The H.H. Lang Block was built in 1904 and housed the Fergus County Hardware Co and the Fad Shoe and Clothing Co.The Slater Block in the middle was built in 1913 and housed the Myrtle...
    • Lewistown, Montana residents

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana
    • Sitting on floor (left to right): Nell Mahana, unknown, Nell Dairs, Florence Culver, Babe Mahana, Eunice Smith; 2nd row sitting: Mrs. Vehawn, Mrs. Mahana, Matt Regan, Louis Landt, Mr. W. S. Smith; 3rd Row: unknown, Art Bullard, Mr. Vehawn, Percy...
    • Morton, Glen

    •  
    •  
    • Glen Morton was born at Hopeville, Iowa, in 1888. In 1909 Morton arrived in Lewistown on the old Jawbone Railroad. The next day he climbed aboard a Nelson Stage Coach bound for Kendall where he got a job at T. R. Matlock's general store. The...
    • Palace Meat Market, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Meat markets;
    • Palace meat market 407 W. Main. It was owned by the Slater Bros (Christopher John, William A. and Henry N.). John Slater and Chris Tomberg (meat cutter) are shown in the photo. This building was taken down and Charlie Richards built a stone...
    • Palace Meat Market, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1904
    • Meat Markets;
    • Palace meat market 407 W. Main. It was owned by the Slater Bros (Christopher John, William A. and Henry N.). John Slater and Chris Tomberg (meat cutter) are shown in the photo. This building was taken down and Charlie Richards built a stone...
    • Richards, Charles

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Charlie Richards was born Feb 19, 1855 in Phelps, New York and died July 22, 1944. When his family moved to Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, Charlie learned carpentry and cabinet making. He married his first wife, Julia Allen on Jan 1, 1880 (she died in...
    • Store front, 406 W. Main Street.

    • 1910-1919
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • J.C. Huntoon Law office in upper floor of building. Edmund Wright Land office in lower floor.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK