Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: called
(64 results)



Display: 100

    • Allyn, Harriet

    •  
    • Actresses;
    • Harriet Allyn graduated from Fergus High School in 1921. She was involved as an impersonator in the drama club. She attended the Northwestern University and was on the radio program called “Sadie and Min”. She married her business manager, Mr....
    • Brice Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals;
    • Brice Hospital. It was built by George W. Taylor between the years 1914 and 1917 and completed in 1919. The Brice Hospital was an impressive two-story red brick structure with a day-lighted basement and rooms on the third floor (attic). It was...
    • Bright hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It burned Feb. 12, 1959.
    • Bright hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Hotels;
    • It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It burned Feb. 12, 1959.
    • Bright Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It burned Feb. 12, 1959.
    • Bright Hotel, lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Hotels; Burke Hotel;
    • Scovels transfer wagon says "private secretary". It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It...
    • Bright-Burke Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Buildings;Hotels;
    • View from the 600 block of Main Street. The Bright Hotel is the large building on the left. It was later called the Burke Hotel.
    • Burke hotel fire, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hotels; Fires; Lewistown, Montana;
    • It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It burned Feb. 12, 1959.
    • Burke hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Hotels;
    • It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It burned Feb. 12, 1959.
    • Burke hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hotels;
    • It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1906-1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It burned Feb. 12, 1959.
    • Burke, Daniel (Pickhandle)

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Daniel (Pickhandle) Burke was born in LaSalle County, Illinois in 1964. He came to Montana in 1906 and was in railroad construction. He served in the Legislature in 1922. He married Adelle McDonald in 1923. He owned and operated the Burke Hotel...
    • Central Feed Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View from the back of the building. Central Feed building was built in 1916 by Wasmansdorff and Eastman at 220 East Main. It was originally called the Lewistown Mercantile Co. and later the Nash Finch Wholesale Company. It was built of brick which...
    • Central Feed Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Feed Mill;
    • View from the side of the building. Central Feed building was built in 1916 by Wasmansdorff and Eastman at 220 East Main. It was originally called the Lewistown Mercantile Co. and later the Nash Finch Wholesale Company. It was built of brick which...
    • Central Feed, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown Mercantile;
    • Central Feed building was built in 1916 by Wasmansdorff and Eastman at 220 East Main. It was originally called the Lewistown Mercantile Co. It was built of brick which was produced locally by the Lewistown Brick and Tile Co. It was a wholesale...
    • Central Montana Scenery

    •  
    •  
    • Looking west up Maiden Canyon; the rock formation on the right is a landmark called Elephant's Head.
    • Charlie's Body Works, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Later was called Charlie's Paint and Glass. Originally the building was Baker and Sons, blacksmith's. It was loacted on the corner of Janeaux Street and 3rd Ave. South.
    • Eicoff, Sadie

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Sadye Eicoff. She owned the business called the Leader” a woman’s specialty shop with her husband Sam. They were married in 1919. She once worked as a millinery buyer for a large department store in Cleveland, Ohio. She died in 1977.
    • Elk's home and Fox Theater, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Theaters;
    • Corner of Main St. and 3rd Avene South. Shows the Western Union office in the theater building. The theater was usually called the Judith Theater built in 1915.
    • Fergus County Poor Farm, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Reed and Bowles Trading Post; Carroll Trail; Poor Farms;
    • The Fergus County Poor Farm was located near Spring Creek off the Joyland Road near Lewistown, MT. The barn for the poor farm has a sign on the top that reads "County Farm". To the right of the barn is the main building of the poor farm. In the...
    • First National Bank, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Judith Basin Bank; McDonald and Charters building;
    • Block of buildings at 502-506, W. Main, Lewistown, MT. The building on the right (with awnings on the corner door and front window) housed the First National Bank (formerly called the Judith Basin Bank). It was built in1899. The building next to it...
    • Gas Station, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1953
    •  
    • Central motor sales, 1953, located on the corner of 3rd Avenue South and Janeaux Street. Formerly called the Grease Spot.
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana;
    • The original Barnes-King company was almost entirely composed of men who lived in Fergus county; men who put their money and ef¬forts into the enterprise and lived to see their faith justified. This property was developed by the use of open pit...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana; Barnes-King mine;
    • Barnes-King mine. The Kendall, the North Moccasin, and the Barnes King are three famous old gold mines in Fergus County, Montana. Located adjoingingly in the North Moccasin Mountains, they cover the mineral zone for a distance of three miles on its...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana;
    • The original Barnes-King company was almost entirely composed of men who lived in Fergus county; men who put their money and ef¬forts into the enterprise and lived to see their faith justified. This property was developed by the use of open pit...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana;
    • Barnes King gold mine and slum. The original Barnes-King company was almost entirely composed of men who lived in Fergus county; men who put their money and ef¬forts into the enterprise and lived to see their faith justified. This property was...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Judith Mountains, Montana;
    • The original Barnes-King company was almost entirely composed of men who lived in Fergus county; men who put their money and ef¬forts into the enterprise and lived to see their faith justified. This property was developed by the use of open pit...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Judith Mountains, Montana;
    • The original Barnes-King company was almost entirely composed of men who lived in Fergus county; men who put their money and ef¬forts into the enterprise and lived to see their faith justified. This property was developed by the use of open pit...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana;
    • Barnes King mine. The original Barnes-King company was almost entirely composed of men who lived in Fergus county; men who put their money and ef¬forts into the enterprise and lived to see their faith justified. This property was developed by the...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana;
    • Barnes king shaft. The original Barnes-King company was almost entirely composed of men who lived in Fergus county; men who put their money and ef¬forts into the enterprise and lived to see their faith justified. This property was developed by the...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining;
    • teams excavating at Barnes-King mine. The original Barnes-King company was almost entirely composed of men who lived in Fergus county; men who put their money and ef¬forts into the enterprise and lived to see their faith justified. This property...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana;
    • "On the 600 foot level of the Kendall gold mine in 1909 the "Single Jack" compressed air drill called a Bumble Bee, used to drill holes in the ore rock, to be packed with dynamite to blast and break the ore down for shovelling in cars" Glen C....
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    • Gold Mining;
    • Barnes King gold mine and slum. The original Barnes-King company was almost entirely composed of men who lived in Fergus county; men who put their money and ef¬forts into the enterprise and lived to see their faith justified. This property was...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana.

    •  
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana;
    • Barnes King Mine 1903, with miners. The original Barnes-King company was almost entirely composed of men who lived in Fergus county; men who put their money and ef¬forts into the enterprise and lived to see their faith justified. This property was...
    • Hedgesville, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the main street of Hedgesville (originally called Yale), Montana. It was located east of Harlowton, Montana along the Great Northern Railroad.
    • Hedgesville, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Main Street of Hedgesville. The town was named for Wyllis A. Hedges. In 1988 it was called Yale. In 1910 it became a depot for the Billings and Northern Railroad.
    • Hobson, Montana [Philbrook, Montana]

    •  
    • Hobson, Montana;
    • The town of Hobson was named for S.S. Hobson who was an early day rancher and cowboy. The post office of Philbrook was moved to Hobson when the Great Northern Railroad came through in 1907-08. Formally called Philbrook, Montana Before 1910
    • Hobson, Montana. [Philbrook, Montana]

    • 1910
    • Hobson, Montana;
    • The town of Hobson was named for S.S. Hobson who was an early day rancher and cowboy. The post office of Philbrook was moved to Hobson when the Great Northern Railroad came through in 1907-08. Philbrook later was called Hobson.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Dockery House, 1105 W. Main. It was built in 1912 for Jefferson Albert (J.H.) Akins and his wife, Louise Cresap Akins. J.H. Akins owned the Golden Rule store. The Akins moved to Montana from Missouri in 1896 or ’97, first to Deer Lodge, then to...
    • Lewistown Drug Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Lewistown Drug Store (built 1885) was located on the corner of Main Street and 4th Ave North. It also served as the stage stop for the Lewistown-Kendall stagecoach. It was later called the Phillips Drug Store.
    • Lewistown Post Office, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Confectionery; Post Office;
    • The building was originally called the Fergus County Realty Building but in later years it is called the News-Argus Building. It is located at 521 W. Main and it was built in 1914 by Architects Wasmansdorff and Eastman. Half of the buiding at one...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of the south side of Main Street. Second Power Mercantile (built 1884) on the corner of Main Street and 3rd Avenue South. The Bank of Fergus County (built 1887) is across the street on the other corner. Next to the bank is the Lewistown Hotel...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Buildings on the north side of the 300 block on Main Street. A freight wagon is parked in front of Carson's Saloon (later called the Bon Ton). The other buildings on the block were built in the 1890's except for the building on the far left which...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Sweitzer's Hart and Co. building. View of the south side of the 200 block on Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. The tallest building on the right (built in 1904) was the Bank of Fergus County, later called the Cook-Reynolds Co. building.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Freighting; Oxen teams;
    • Oxen team with a freight wagon is in the middle of the 500 block of Main Street. The first Lincoln school (built 1889 and torn down in 1911; it was also called the Brick School) is the building on the left in the distance.The Carnegie Library...
    • Lewistown, Montana view from the southeast.

    • 1989
    •  
    • View of area where Big Casino Creek joins with Spring Creek near Ash Street, Lewistown, Montana. This is the area where the first trading post was constructed by Peter Koch in 1873 when it was thought that the area would be set aside for the Crow...
    • Lincoln School, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Located between 6th Avenue South and 7th Avenue South. It was built in 1889 and torn down in 1911. It was sometimes called the Brick School.
    • Lincoln School, Lewitown, Montana

    • 1914
    •  
    • Girls walking in front of the Lincoln School at 212 6th Avenue South. This view is from the 7th Avenue South side of the building. It was built in 1912 after the 1st Lincoln School (sometimes called the Brick School) was torn down in 1911.
    • Maiden, Maiden

    •  
    •  
    • Canyon, Montana sometimes called Spotted Horse, Montana. Gap in the mountains enroute to Maiden. Junction of Maiden Canyon (left) and Spotted Horse Gulch (right).
    • Messier, Ike

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Ike Messier was born in 1891. He died Sept 7, 1971. In 1917 he married Ruth Covert of Valentine, Montana. He repaired automobiles in Lewistown, Montana for 40 years. In 1910 he walked 100 miles from the Musselshell River to Lewistown. His first job...
    • Moccasin, Montana;

    • 1940
    • Moccasin, Montana;
    • Photo probably 1940's. Building later called Dicks 76 in the 1950's. Moccasin was named after the Moccasin Mountains. It was a town on the Great Northern Railway and was located in the productive wheat growing area of Montana.
    • Nodson and Sloan Saloon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Saloons;
    • Nodson and Sloan Saloon was owned by John Nodson and A. Morris Sloan at 412 W. Main. In 1908 it was called the Red Front Saloon and in 1910 it was called the Oberon Buffet.
    • Pinkley Stables, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • It was located on the corner of 1st Avenue South and Janeaux Street. It faced 1st Avenue South. Pinkley and Deaton had a livery stable there in 1911. It was later the E. B. Andrus wholesale store (1930). At one time it was a roller skating rink....
    • Pinkley Stables, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Stables;
    • It was located on the corner of 1st Avenue South and Janeaux Street. It faced 1st Avenue South. Pinkley and Deaton had a livery stable there in 1911. It was later the E. B. Andrus wholesale store (1930). At one time it was a roller skating rink. It...
    • Power Mercantile Co., Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Located at 302 W. Main and was built in 1901 by the Power Mercantile Co. The Power Mercantile Co. was started by T.C. Power when he bought out Francis Janeaux's Trading Post in 1883. This was the 3rd building called Power Mercantile.
    • Power Mercantile Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Mercantile Stores;
    • The second Powers building was built in 1884 and was located at 301 W. Main. Powers as the store was commonly called, was managed by N.M. Erickson, until his death in 1894. Erickson was responsible for getting a post office designation for...
    • Power Mercantile, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Mercantile Stores;
    • Located at 301 W. Main. The second Powers building was built in 1884 and was located at 301 W. Main. Powers as the store was commonly called, was managed by N.M. Erickson, until his death in 1894. Erickson was responsible for getting a post office...
    • Saxl, Emil

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Emil Saxl was born in Bohemia, Austria, January 21, 1874. In 1896, he arrived in Montana coming overland from Casper, Wyoming to Lewistown, Montana. Mr. Saxl, a violinist and Fred Peterson, a cello player, formed a partnership, and opened a music...
    • Scovel's Transfer truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The Lewistown bus called The Pride of Lewistown is parked at the Milwaukee Railroad depot. The flour mill is visable in the background. A sign on the door of the bus reads: Scovel's Transfer. The flour mill has a sign on it that reads: It's the...
    • Seiden Drug Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Drugstores;
    • Seiden Drug Store (earlier called Wilson-Seiden Drug Store) was owned by John W. Seiden. It was located at 416 W. Main. Man may be John Seiden as a young man.
    • Seiden Drug Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Drugstores;
    • Seiden Drug Store (earlier called Wilson-Seiden Drug Store) was owned by John W. Seiden. It was located at 416 W. Main.
    • Ware, Montana

    •  
    • Ware, Montana;
    • Ware, Montana began as a Milwaukee Railroad Station which brought homesteaders. At one time it had 2 grain elevators, a service station, a school, post office and 2 saloons and a population of 350. The post office closed in 1954 (Names on the Face...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK