Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: Main
(591 results)



Display: 100

    • A & R (Allen and Robinson) building, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • J. H. Akins; C. H. Williams; Seiden Drug Store; Drug Stores;
    • It was built in 1903 at 416 W. Main. It was the location of the Golden Rule Store owned by J. H. Akins. C.H. Williams, who removed his drug business from Maiden to Lewistown in 1895 established his business in the Allen & Robinson Building in 1904....
    • Aerial view of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of Lewistown looking north east. Main Street runs through the center of the photo and the Fergus County Courthouse can be seen in the center left.
    • Alabam's Cafes; Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Cafes;
    • The building was originally built in 1900 by Archibald Hopkins and he ran the Hopkins Brothers Grocery. It was located at 117 W. Main. Alabam’s Café opened in this building in 1940; it was owned by Roscoe Taylor and Bob McAtee.
    • American House Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The American House Hotel (built 1896 burned 1902) located on the southeast corner of Main Street and 6th Ave. South, Lewistown, MT. The first Courthouse is shown on the middle of the photo in the horizon. To the right is the construction of the...
    • Apple's Dairy, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Dairies;
    • Located on North East Main Street. St. Joseph's Hospital shows in the center background and the old flour mill shows on the far right side of the photo.
    • Ark Exchange Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Ark Exchange was a used furniture store. The building in the background is the Wise Block was located on the 500 block of Main Street. It was built in 1911 and burned in 1959.
    • Arro Confectionery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Interior view of the Arro Confectionary store located in the Fergus County Realty building (built 1914) at 521 W. Main, Lewistown, MT.
    • Attix, Dr. Frederick

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Dr. Fred Franklin Attix was born Aug 8, 1878 in Richwood, Minnesota and died Feb 9, 1948 and was buried in the Lewistown City Cemetery. His father was Harry Attix of Elgin, Illinois and mother was Mary Belle Knowles of Battle Creek, Michigan. He...
    • B&H Grocery, located at 114 E. Main.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • It was formerly the Culver Opera House built by William Culver (the first photographer to this area) before 1900.
    • Bank Electric building construction, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1913
    • Buildings;
    • Located at 505 W. Main. The First National Bank and the Montana Power Company, growing with the town, retained the services of the local firm of Wasmansdorff and Eastman to design the Bank-Electric Building.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 221 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Banks;
    • This is the interior of the Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1904 at 223 W. Main. It replaced the first Bank of Fergus County which was built in 1887 and burned in 1904 when the Lewistown Hotel (next door) burned. The bank later moved into...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Bank of Fergus County (built in 1904) located at 223 W. Main. It was used by the bank until they moved across Main Street to 224 W. Main in 1917.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Iwas built in 1904 and located at 223 W. Main. It was used as the bank until they built a new building across Main Street at 224 W. Main in 1917
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located 223 W. Main. The building faces Main Street with its west side facing Third Avenue South. this is the second building occupied by the Bank of Fergus County. Note that the picture was taken before the streets were paved in 1913. Looking NE
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 223 W. Main, the building on the right was the Bank of Fergus County. It was built in 1882-83. It burned in 1904 and was rebuilt in 1905. Later the bank built the Montana Building across the street and moved in 1917. The building on the...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located 223 W. Main. Originally it was built in 1905 by the Bank of Fergus County and later became the home of the Cook-Reynolds real estate company.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1898
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 223 W. Main, the building on the right was the Bank of Fergus County. It was built in 1886-87. It burned in 1904 and was rebuilt in 1905. Later the bank built the Montana Building across the street and moved in 1917. The Lewistown Hotel...
    • Bertrand and Laux's store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Joseph Bertrand came to Lewistown in 1887, as an employee of T. C. Power & Bros.; in 1896 he began merchandising for himself. His business may have been in the 200 block on Main Street (north side)
    • Branson, Alexander

    •  
    • Barbers;
    • In July 1887, Branson filed a claim for 160 acres on the west fork of Beaver Creek, southwest of Lewistown. Branson completed proving up his homestead on July 11, 1892, and he received patent to 160 acres. He had other land in the same area and...
    • Bright hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Hotels;
    • It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It burned Feb. 12, 1959.
    • Bright hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It burned Feb. 12, 1959.
    • Bright Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It burned Feb. 12, 1959.
    • Bright Hotel, lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Hotels; Burke Hotel;
    • Scovels transfer wagon says "private secretary". It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It...
    • Bright Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Bright Hotel was located on the northeast corner of 6th Avenue and Main Street. The lower left section of the building was built in 1906 and the rest was built in 1908. The Bright Hotel became the Burke Hotel in 1923-1924.The building burned in...
    • Bright Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Bright Hotel was located on the northwest corner of 6th Avenue and Main Street. The lower left section of the building was built in 1906 and the rest was built in 1908. The Bright Hotel became the Burke Hotel in 1924.The building burned in 1959.
    • Bright-Burke Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Buildings;Hotels;
    • View from the 600 block of Main Street. The Bright Hotel is the large building on the left. It was later called the Burke Hotel.
    • Brooks block, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Brooks building is located at 207 W. Main. It was originally built in 1913. Side of the building being refurbished by Valach Construction
    • Burke hotel fire, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hotels; Fires; Lewistown, Montana;
    • It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It burned Feb. 12, 1959.
    • Burke hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hotels;
    • It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1906-1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It burned Feb. 12, 1959.
    • Burke hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Hotels;
    • It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It burned Feb. 12, 1959.
    • Burning textbooks, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1918-03-27
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The burning of German textbooks (from the high school) on Main Street, Lewistown, Montana, March 27, 1918.
    • Busy Corner Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of the corner of 4th Avenue South and Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. View also shows Sweitzer's Department Store (built in 1913) at 311-315 W. Main.
    • Busy Corner Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the south side of the 300 block on Main Street from the corner of 4th Avenue. The Busy Corner (located at 323 W. Main) was a confectionary store. Men and women are standing on the corner and a few are crossing the street on a boardwalk. The...
    • C. F. Little Jewelry Store and Hobensack and Sloan store.

    •  
    •  
    • Two buildings on the NW corner of Main Street and 3rd Ave North, Lewistown, Montana. Hobensack and Sloan Hardware Store on the left and C.F. Little Jewelry on the right. Part of the Bon Ton Store is shown on the far left. A stagecoach is traveling...
    • Carnegie Public Library, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • This photgraph shows the Carnegie Public Library (built 1905), Blackford residence (built 1909) and the Rowley House (south side of the 700 block on Main Street). The building on the far right was the May Apartments building built in 1902 at 803 W....
    • Cars parked in middle of Main Street, Lewistown, MT

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View from the 600 block of Main Street, Lewistown, MT. Creel Funeral Home (built 1913) on the right was originally the Marsh the Homemaker store. The Burke Hotel (built1906 as the Bright Hotel) is the large building on the left. An electric...
    • Carson's Saloon, Lewistown, MT

    •  
    •  
    • Built in 1893, the Carson's Saloon building became the Bon Ton Confectionary in 1908. It's location is 312 W. Main.
    • Cat Creek Oil Field

    •  
    • Oil;
    • Main Street Frantztown. Oil was discovered numerous times in Montana prior to 1919, but it wasn't until Frantz Oil Corp. struck "black gold" in December 1919 that the industry began to boom. The Denver-based company found the high-quality crude at...
    • Central Feed Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Feed Mill;
    • View from the side of the building. Central Feed building was built in 1916 by Wasmansdorff and Eastman at 220 East Main. It was originally called the Lewistown Mercantile Co. and later the Nash Finch Wholesale Company. It was built of brick which...
    • Central Feed Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View from the back of the building. Central Feed building was built in 1916 by Wasmansdorff and Eastman at 220 East Main. It was originally called the Lewistown Mercantile Co. and later the Nash Finch Wholesale Company. It was built of brick which...
    • Central Feed, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown Mercantile;
    • Central Feed building was built in 1916 by Wasmansdorff and Eastman at 220 East Main. It was originally called the Lewistown Mercantile Co. It was built of brick which was produced locally by the Lewistown Brick and Tile Co. It was a wholesale...
    • Central Montana Historical Association Museum, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Central Montana Historical Association Museum building, 408 NE Main Street. It was built in 1956. Originally the museum was in the Civic Center. The dates on the windows refer to the Chamber of Commerce which is housed in the museum building.
    • Charles Lehman and Co., Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lehman's Department Store; Golden Rule Store;
    • View of Main Street shows the Charles Lehman Co Department Store on the corner of Main and 5th Ave North, Lewistown, MT. The Golden Rule Store is next to it followed by the Day House. Telephone lines on each side of the street represent 2 different...
    • Children in school yard, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1888
    •  
    • Lewistown Main Street. The first school house is on the right side with school children in yard next to the school. A fence surrounds the school and yard. Main Street is in front of the school. Judith Mountains are in the background.
    • Clara Main

    •  
    • Clara Main;
    • Miss Clara Main was the librarian at the Lewistown Carnegie Library 1913-1941.
    • Construction of the Power Mercantile Co., Lewistown, Montana

    • 1901
    • Power Mercantile Co.;
    • Beginning of the construction of the Power Mercantile Building, 302 W. Main, Lewistown, Montana in 1901. The floor is laid and a partial wall of locally quarried sandstone is on the right side. Part of the Montana Hardware building is on the right.
    • Cook-Reynolds Company Building, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Theaters; Real Estate; Western Union;
    • It was built in 1904. Located on the corner of Main Street and 3rd Avenue South. The Western Union office is located in the Judith Theater (built 1914) building next door.
    • Corner of Main Street and 3rd Ave, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Montana Building is the tall white building (built 1917) on left. The Power Bros Building (built 1901) is the smaller building on the left. It was built by the Croatian Stonemasons from local sandstone. The tall white building on the right...
    • Corner view of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View to the left is from 8th Avenue looking down Main Street and to the right is looking down 8th Avenue South.
    • Court House, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Image shows the Fergus County Court House area and the Carnegie Library across the street on the corner of Main Street and 7th Ave. South.
    • Court House, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1908
    •  
    • Both the old Fergus County Courthouse (built 1890 and the new Court House (built 1908) are side by side at 712 W. Main.
    • Crowley Block, Lewistown, Montana. 311 W. Main.

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View shows the building from the back as it was being constructed. It was owned by Annie Crowley. The building next to it is the back of the Warr-Lane building as it was being constructed also. They were built in 1913.
    • Cummings, Frank L.

    •  
    • World War l; Textbook burning;
    • Frank L. Cummings was principal of the Fergus County High School, Lewistown, Montana from 1916-1923. He trained at the University of Chicago where he earned both his A.B. and A.M. degrees. To accommodate the farm boys who could not attend the full...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK