Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: It
(769 results)



Display: 100

    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Bank of Fergus County (built in 1904) located at 223 W. Main. It was used by the bank until they moved across Main Street to 224 W. Main in 1917.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Dockery House, 1105 W. Main. It was built in 1912 for Jefferson Albert (J.H.) Akins and his wife, Louise Cresap Akins. J.H. Akins owned the Golden Rule store. The Akins moved to Montana from Missouri in 1896 or ’97, first to Deer Lodge, then to...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Original home of William H. Culver residence at 212 5th Avenue North being demolished. It was built in 1890. The building next door is his later residence built in 1900. William H. Culver was the original photographer for the central Montana area....
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Calvert Hotel was built in 1917 as a girl’s dormitory for the Fergus County High School. It was located at 216 7th Ave. South. On Aug. 21, 1925, it was reported by the school administration that Fergus High was broke due to the bank failures in...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • James Corcoran built the house in 1897. He built it for his new wife, Anna Trepp, who was the widow of an 1860 pioneer, Martin Trepp. Mr. Corcoran built the house in Lewistown as an exact replica of a fifteen room brick house he had built and lived...
    • Parade, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the businesses: Phillips Drug Store (324 W. Main (center left) with the Fair (322 W. Main) next to it. The News Depot was across the street on the corner of 4th Avenue South. The house in the photo faces 4th Avenue South.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • James Cor¬coran built the house in 1897. He built it for his new wife, Anna Trepp, who was the widow of an 1860 pioneer, Martin Trepp. Mr. Corcoran built the house in Lewistown as an exact replica of a fifteen room brick house he had built and...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • W. D. Symmes residence, built 1909 and located at 220 W. Boulevard. It is part of the Silk Stocking District.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Iwas built in 1904 and located at 223 W. Main. It was used as the bank until they built a new building across Main Street at 224 W. Main in 1917
    • Judith Gold Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Fergus County Creamery was started in 1914. It was started by William Castberg, who came from Pony, Montana. The brand name, Judith Gold, used by the creamery originated as a result of a contest conducted by the original owner, Castberg. On...
    • Carson's Saloon, Lewistown, MT

    •  
    •  
    • Built in 1893, the Carson's Saloon building became the Bon Ton Confectionary in 1908. It's location is 312 W. Main.
    • Brice Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The Brice Hospital (built 1919) was located at 614 W. Pine. It was built by Dr. Theodore J. Brice. It later became the Pine Crest Apartments. The old gymnasium for the high school is in the background on the left.
    • Morton, Glen

    •  
    •  
    • Glen Morton was born at Hopeville, Iowa, in 1888. In 1909 Morton arrived in Lewistown on the old Jawbone Railroad. The next day he climbed aboard a Nelson Stage Coach bound for Kendall where he got a job at T. R. Matlock's general store. The...
    • Eagles Manor, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Located on the south side of the 200 block.View of the backside of the construction of the Eagles Manor. It was built in 1971 by the Lewistown Eagles Lodge.
    • Eagles Manor, Lewitown, Montana

    • 1971
    •  
    • Located on the south side of the 200 block on Janeaux Street. It was built in 1971 by the Lewistown Eagles Lodge.
    • Hawthorne School, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Hawthorne School (built 1899 and condemned in 1817). It was located between 2nd and 3rd Avenue North on Evelyn Street. View of the interior of a classroom with rows of desks and American flags hanging from the ceiling.
    • Day House Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Day House Hotel (built in 1880's at Reedsfort) was located on the corner of 4th Avenue North and Main Street. It had been moved (1886) from Reedsfort to this location and in 1908 it was moved to the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North....
    • Eagles Manor, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Located on the south side of the 200 block on Janeaux Street. It was built in 1971 by the Lewistown Eagles Lodge.
    • Eagles Manor, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Located on the south side of the 200 block on Janeaux Street. It was built in 1971 by the Lewistown Eagles Lodge.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Huntoon home at 722 W. Water. He was an attorney in business with William Blackford. The house was later owned by the Didier family. It was built in 1916.
    • Busy Corner Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the south side of the 300 block on Main Street from the corner of 4th Avenue. The Busy Corner (located at 323 W. Main) was a confectionary store. Men and women are standing on the corner and a few are crossing the street on a boardwalk. The...
    • Eagles Manor, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Located on the south side of the 200 block on Janeaux Street. It was built in 1971 by the Lewistown Eagles Lodge.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Blackford residence 713 W. Main. It was built in 1909. Mr. William M. Blackford was an attorney.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    • 1977
    •  
    • Home located at the corner of Washington and 5th Avenue North. It was the first school house moved from the 500 block on Main Street to this location and turned into a home. It was later moved to the Joyland Road.
    • Lewistown Drug Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Lewistown Drug Store (built 1885) was located on the corner of Main Street and 4th Ave North. It also served as the stage stop for the Lewistown-Kendall stagecoach. It was later called the Phillips Drug Store.
    • Brewery, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Lewistown Brewery just south of Lewistown was built by in 1894 by John Laux. It was built with locally quarried sandstone. A wooden fence is in the foreground of the photo with two signs on the fence that say ""CULVER'S MILLINERY"". The...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • This was the residence of T.T. Taylor who was a banker. It was built in 1919 at 215 W. Boulevard. It is part of the Silk Stocking District.
    • City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Fire wagon pulled by horses and a fire truck coming out of the City Hall. It was built in 1904 and located on the corner of 4th Avenue South and Watson Street.
    • Brooks block, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Brooks building is located at 207 W. Main. It was originally built in 1913. Side of the building being refurbished by Valach Construction
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View from hill above Montana Street at 6th Avenue North. The Episcopal Church (built 1899) at 502 W. Montana has a boardwalk in front of it. A wagon is on Montana Street in the foreground. In the distance to the left is the Hawthorne School...
    • Central Feed Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View from the back of the building. Central Feed building was built in 1916 by Wasmansdorff and Eastman at 220 East Main. It was originally called the Lewistown Mercantile Co. and later the Nash Finch Wholesale Company. It was built of brick which...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • J. T. Wunderlin home at 222 W. Washington. It was built in 1905. The original owner was Edmund Wright.
    • Methodist Church, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • This was the first Methodist Church built in Lewistown, Montana. It was located on the corner of 5th Ave North and Broadway Street. It was replaced with a stone church in 1904.
    • Milwaukee Railroad oil cars

    •  
    •  
    • Railroad cars hauling oil from the Cat Creek Oil Field to Lewistown. It passed through Sam Phillips' oat field.
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Lehman Co, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Charles Lehman Co, located on the corner of Main Street and 5th Avenue North. It was built in 1892-1893
    • Empire Block, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the Empire Bank and Trust Co. building (built 1908) located on the corner of Main Street and 4th Avenue North. The Day House once on the same location as the Empire building was moved to Broadway Street and 4th Avenue North and can be seen...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • This was the residence of T.T. Taylor who was a banker. It was built in 1919 at 215 W. Boulevard. It is part of the Silk Stocking District.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • J. T. Wunderlin home at 222 W. Washington. It was built in 1905. The original owner was Edmund Wright.
    • Judith Hardware, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • It was located at 307 W. Main and built in 1900. Workmen are repairing the wall which collapsed after the building next door had burned down.
    • Gem Cafes; Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1946
    •  
    • It was located at the corner of 4th Avenue South and Main Street. It was owned by P.O. Mimnaugh who started the Gem Cafe in 1931 and was remodeled in 1946.
    • Hawthorne School, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Hawthorne School (built 1899 demolished 1918). It was located between 2nd and 3rd Avenue North on Evelyn Street. A few homes are to the right of the school were built by James Corcoran. The Moccasin Mountains are in the distance.
    • Tar Paper Palace,  Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of the Tarpaper Palace which was used as the high school after arsonists burned down the school building in 1918. It was located in the 400 block on 7th Avenue South.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Ralph Reynolds owned this house at the corner of 5th and Washington (422 W. Washington) and later the Clingan family owned it.
    • Montana Lumber Company, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Montana Lumber Company located at the corner of Water Street and 1st Avenue South, Lewistown, Montana. It was built in 1912-1914 and burned in 1938.
    • Gilt Edge, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Located northeast of Lewistown, Montana on Ford’s Creek. It was an early gold mining camp and had a post office in 1894. The mine closed down in 1912
    • Corner of Main Street and 3rd Ave, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Montana Building is the tall white building (built 1917) on left. The Power Bros Building (built 1901) is the smaller building on the left. It was built by the Croatian Stonemasons from local sandstone. The tall white building on the right...
    • Gilt Edge, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Bird's eye view of the town. Located northeast of Lewistown, Montana on Ford’s Creek. It was an early gold mining camp and had a post office in 1894. The mine closed down in 1912.
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    • 1918-04-30
    •  
    • View of the High School after the fire set by arsonists April 30, 1918.The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of...
    • Sappire mine area.

    •  
    •  
    • Boarding house at English Mine, Yogo, Montana. It was located on the east side of the Little Belt Mountains. Yogo sapphires are well known for their corn-flower blue color.
    • Dahl's Shoe Shop, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • Arne Dahl owned this shoe shop at 102 W. Main in the 1904 Polk Directory and 105 4th Avenue North in the 1922 Polk Directory. It is not known which building this is.
    • Lewistown, Montana view from the southeast.

    • 1989
    •  
    • View of area where Big Casino Creek joins with Spring Creek near Ash Street, Lewistown, Montana. This is the area where the first trading post was constructed by Peter Koch in 1873 when it was thought that the area would be set aside for the Crow...
    • Gilt Edge, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Located northeast of Lewistown, Montana on Ford’s Creek. It was an early gold mining camp and had a post office in 1894. The mine closed down in 1912.
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    • 1918-04-30
    •  
    • View of the High School after the fire set by arsonists April 30, 1918The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of...
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of such an institution here The Fergus County High School was established...
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of such an institution here The Fergus County High School was established...
    • Sapphire Mine area.

    •  
    •  
    • American Mine at Yogo, Montana. It was located on the east side of the Little Belt Mountains. Yogo sapphires are well known for their corn-flower blue color.
    • Sapphire Mine area.

    •  
    •  
    • Thomas Sidwell at the hospital building at the English Mine at Yogo, Montana. It was located on the east side of the Little Belt Mountains. Yogo sapphires are well known for their corn-flower blue color.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of Main Street Lewistown, Montana from the corner of 2nd Avenue. It shows the bridge over Spring Creek.
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of such an institution here The Fergus County High School was established...
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    • 1918-04-30
    •  
    • View of the High School after the fire set by arsonists April 30, 1918. The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of...
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of such an institution here The Fergus County High School was established...
    • Masonic Temple, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Masonic Temple building (built 1908) located at 324 W. Broadway Street. It was built with locally quarried sandstone by Croatian stonemasons. Signs on the side of the building read "Lewistown Coal Gas and Light Company"; "Cook Reynolds Co. Land &...
    • Sapphire Mine area.

    • 1940
    •  
    • American Mine mill at Yogo, Montana. It was located on the east side of the Little Belt Mountains. Yogo sapphires are well known for their corn-flower blue color.
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of such an institution here The Fergus County High School was established...
    • Sapphire Mine area.

    •  
    •  
    • Yogo canyon opposite side from American Mine. It was located on the east side of the Little Belt Mountains. Yogo sapphires are well known for their corn-flower blue color.
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of such an institution here The Fergus County High School was established...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK