Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: It
(741 results)



Display: 100

    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    • 1887
    • Gold Mining; Spotted Horse Mill;
    • This was the Spotted Horse stamp mill. The machinery was originally in the collar Gulch Mill and purchased by Perry McAdow and moved to Spotted Horse. This was in the bottom of spotted Horse Gulch near where the concrete tailings dam presently...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1898
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Located at 223 W. Main, the building on the right was the Bank of Fergus County. It was built in 1886-87. It burned in 1904 and was rebuilt in 1905. Later the bank built the Montana Building across the street and moved in 1917. The Lewistown Hotel...
    • Gilt Edge, Montana

    • 1902
    • Gilt Edge, Montana; Belanger's Store;
    • Located northeast of Lewistown, Montana on Ford’s Creek. It was an early gold mining camp and had a post office in 1894. The mine closed down in 1912.
    • Kendall, Montana

    • 1902
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana; Harry T. Kendall; North Moccasin Mountains;
    • “Harry T. Kendall, a prospector and visionary, bought a couple of claims in the North Moccasin Mountains in 1898. In 1900, a new corporation, the Kendall Gold Mining Company, was formed by Kendall and four other trustees with a capital stock of...
    • Palace Meat Market, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1904
    • Meat Markets;
    • Palace meat market 407 W. Main. It was owned by the Slater Bros (Christopher John, William A. and Henry N.). John Slater and Chris Tomberg (meat cutter) are shown in the photo. This building was taken down and Charlie Richards built a stone...
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1904
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • Bank of Fergus county is on the right. Lewistown Hotel was built in 1882-83 by Frank Moshner for Judge Toombs. It was later owned by Mr. Hortop. At the time it burned in 1904 it was owned by Frank E. Wright. The Bank of Fergus County was damaged to...
    • Moore, Montana

    • 1905
    • Moore, Montana;
    • Moore, Montana was named after a Mr. Moore of Philadelphia who rendered financial help to Richard A. Harlow when he was building the Jaw Bone Railroad from Harlowton to Lewistown. Moore’s first post office opened in 1904. The first elevator in...
    • Moore, Montana

    • 1905
    • Moore, Montana;
    • Moore, Montana was named after a Mr. Moore of Philadelphia who rendered financial help to Richard A. Harlow when he was building the Jaw Bone Railroad from Harlowton to Lewistown. Moore’s first post office opened in 1904. The first elevator in...
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    • 1906-1909
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana;
    • View shows the trestle and electric engine which hauled the ore trains from the Santiago Gold Mine to the Kendall mill where it was processsed. At the back is the entrance to the "Open Cut" of the Kendall Mine. A part of the mill of the Kendall...
    • Masonic Temple, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1909
    • Masonic Temple; Cook-Reynolds Co;
    • Corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North. The Masonic Temple in Lewistown is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is associated with events that reflect significant settlement patterns in the growth of Montana and in the development...
    • City Hall, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1910
    • Fire Department; City Hall;
    • The City Hall of Lewistown was located on the corner of Watson Street and 4th Avenue. It was built in 1904 and demolished in 1983.
    • Kendall, Montana

    • 1910-06-13
    • Gold Mining; Kendall, Montana; Harry T. Kendall; North Moccasin Mountains;
    • Double Jack Drill Team- Jack Driville and his son, James, in drilling contest at Miners' Union Day celebration, Kendall, Montana June 13, 1910. The drilling rock is still in place at it's original location. “Harry T. Kendall, a prospector and...
    • Old Stand Buffet, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1910-10-15
    • Staudt family;
    • Interior of the Old Stand Buffet located at 309 W. Main, Lewistown, MT. Eight men are standing in front of the bar and two men are behind it. George Staudt 5th from the right; Chris Staudt first from the right;
    • View of Main Street taken from the 500 block.

    • 1910-1919
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The building on the left is the Bright Hotel, it later became the Burke Hotel. The first part was built in 1906 and added to in 1908. It burned in 1959.
    • Seiden Drug Store.

    • 1910-1919
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • A & R building, north side of the 400 block of Main Street. It was built in 1903.
    • West side of Lewistown.

    • 1910-1919
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • The houses in the foreground are on Main Street between the 900-1000 block. The large home on the left is the Crowley residence and the building over the top of it is the First Christian Church.
    • Moccasin, Montana;

    • 1914
    • Moccasin, Montana;
    • Moccasin was named after the Moccasin Mountains. It was a town on the Great Northern Railway and was located in the productive wheat growing area of Montana.
    • Moore, Montana

    • 1914
    • Moore, Montana;
    • Moore, Montana was named after a Mr. Moore of Philadelphia who rendered financial help to Richard A. Harlow when he was building the Jaw Bone Railroad from Harlowton to Lewistown. Moore’s first post office opened in 1904. The first elevator in...
    • Moore, Montana

    • 1914
    • Moore, Montana;
    • Moore, Montana was named after a Mr. Moore of Philadelphia who rendered financial help to Richard A. Harlow when he was building the Jaw Bone Railroad from Harlowton to Lewistown. Moore’s first post office opened in 1904. The first elevator in...
    • Lincoln School, Lewitown, Montana

    • 1914
    •  
    • Girls walking in front of the Lincoln School at 212 6th Avenue South. This view is from the 7th Avenue South side of the building. It was built in 1912 after the 1st Lincoln School (sometimes called the Brick School) was torn down in 1911.
    • A. K. and Willa (Snartland) Raundal wedding photo.

    • 1916
    • Fergus County, Montana;
    • Willa Snartland married A.K. Raundal after she had been on her homestead 6 months. Earlier her brother had filed for the homestead but he got sick and so she moved into the homestead to take over for her brother. The homestead was located southeast...
    • Willa Snartland Raundal working on her homestead.

    • 1916
    • Homesteads;
    • Willa Snartland married A.K. Raundal after she had been on her homestead 6 months. Earlier her brother had filed for the homestead but he got sick and so she moved into the homestead to take over for her brother. The homestead was located southeast...
    • Willa Snartland Raundal at Homestead southeast of Roy, Montana.

    • 1916
    • Homesteads; Fergus County, Montana;
    • Willa Snartland married A.K. Raundal after she had been on her homestead 6 months. Earlier her brother had filed for the homestead but he got sick and so she moved into the homestead to take over for her brother. The homestead was located southeast...
    • Willa Snartland Raundal and company at Homestead 1916

    • 1916
    • Homesteads; Fergus County, Montana;
    • Willa Snartland married A.K. Raundal after she had been on her homestead 6 months. Earlier her brother had filed for the homestead but he got sick and so she moved into the homestead to take over for her brother. The homestead was located southeast...
    • Willa Snartland Raundal at Homestead house 1916.

    • 1916
    • Homesteads; Fergus County, Montana;
    • Willa Snartland married A.K. Raundal after she had been on her homestead 6 months. Earlier her brother had filed for the homestead but he got sick and so she moved into the homestead to take over for her brother. The homestead was located southeast...
    • A. K. and Willa Raundal at Homestead 1916

    • 1916
    • Homesteads; Fergus County, Montana;
    • Willa Snartland married A.K. Raundal after she had been on her homestead 6 months. Earlier her brother had filed for the homestead but he got sick and so she moved into the homestead to take over for her brother. The homestead was located southeast...
    • Moore, Montana

    • 1917
    • Moore, Montana;
    • Moore, Montana was named after a Mr. Moore of Philadelphia who rendered financial help to Richard A. Harlow when he was building the Jaw Bone Railroad from Harlowton to Lewistown. Moore’s first post office opened in 1904. The first elevator in...
    • Brickyard workers at Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1917
    • Brickyards; Beehive kiln;
    • Back row: (left to right) unknown, Ben Isaacs, Joe Isaacs, unknown, unknown, unknown, Fred Howard; Front row: unknown, unknown, Roy Stokes, Unknown. The brickyard was started by John Gretencourt and George Wiedeman. The business started about 1910...
    • Moore, Montana

    • 1917
    • Moore, Montana;
    • Cement, Coal and Paint Hardware Store. Moore, Montana was named after a Mr. Moore of Philadelphia who rendered financial help to Richard A. Harlow when he was building the Jaw Bone Railroad from Harlowton to Lewistown. Moore’s first post office...
    • Moore, Montana

    • 1917
    • Moore, Montana; Floods;
    • Montana Lumber Company. Moore, Montana was named after a Mr. Moore of Philadelphia who rendered financial help to Richard A. Harlow when he was building the Jaw Bone Railroad from Harlowton to Lewistown. Moore’s first post office opened in 1904....
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    • 1918-04-30
    •  
    • View of the High School after the fire set by arsonists April 30, 1918.The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of...
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    • 1918-04-30
    •  
    • View of the High School after the fire set by arsonists April 30, 1918The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of...
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    • 1918-04-30
    •  
    • View of the High School after the fire set by arsonists April 30, 1918. The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of...
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    • 1918-04-30
    •  
    • View of the High School after the fire set by arsonists April 30, 1918. The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of...
    • Fergus County High School Lewistown, Montana

    • 1918-04-30
    •  
    • View of the High School after the fire set by arsonists April 30, 1918. The legislature of 1899 passed the first Act for the establishment of County High Schools, and the citizens of Lewistown immediately took steps to secure the establishment of...
    • Moccasin, Montana;

    • 1919-08-16
    • Moccasin, Montana;
    • Fire August 16, 1919. Moccasin was named after the Moccasin Mountains. It was a town on the Great Northern Railway and was located in the productive wheat growing area of Montana.
    • Moccasin, Montana;

    • 1919-08-16
    • Moccasin, Montana;
    • Fire August 16, 1919. Moccasin was named after the Moccasin Mountains. It was a town on the Great Northern Railway and was located in the productive wheat growing area of Montana.
    • Moccasin, Montana;

    • 1919-08-16
    • Moccasin, Montana;
    • Fire August 16, 1919. Moccasin was named after the Moccasin Mountains. It was a town on the Great Northern Railway and was located in the productive wheat growing area of Montana.
    • Moccasin, Montana;

    • 1919-08-16
    • Moccasin, Montana;
    • Fire August 16, 1919. Moccasin was named after the Moccasin Mountains. It was a town on the Great Northern Railway and was located in the productive wheat growing area of Montana.
    • Moccasin, Montana;

    • 1919-08-16
    • Moccasin, Montana;
    • Fire August 16, 1919. Moccasin was named after the Moccasin Mountains. It was a town on the Great Northern Railway and was located in the productive wheat growing area of Montana.
    • Moccasin, Montana;

    • 1919-08-16
    • Moccasin, Montana;
    • Fire August 16, 1919. Moccasin was named after the Moccasin Mountains. It was a town on the Great Northern Railway and was located in the productive wheat growing area of Montana.
    • Flood, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1920-07-04
    • Culver Opera House;
    • Culver Opera House is the building behind the car in the middle of the photo. It was built in 1887 by William Culver who was the first photographer in Lewistown in 1886.
    • Moore, Montana

    • 1923
    • Moore, Montana; Football;
    • Moore Football team. Moore, Montana was named after a Mr. Moore of Philadelphia who rendered financial help to Richard A. Harlow when he was building the Jaw Bone Railroad from Harlowton to Lewistown. Moore’s first post office opened in 1904. The...
    • Lewistown oil refinery;

    • 1925-08-19
    • Oil refinery; Oil fires;
    • Fire Aug. 19, 1925. Early in the summer of 1921 the Lewistown Oil and Refining Company built and operated a refinery on a very small commercial scale to demonstrate that it was possible and profitable to refine the high grade crude oil from Cat...
    • Lewistown oil refinery;

    • 1925-08-19
    • Oil refinery; Oil fires;
    • Fire Aug. 19, 1925. Early in the summer of 1921 the Lewistown Oil and Refining Company built and operated a refinery on a very small commercial scale to demonstrate that it was possible and profitable to refine the high grade crude oil from Cat...
    • Lewistown Oil Refinery

    • 1925-08-19
    • Oil refinery; Fires;
    • Fire Aug. 19, 1925. Early in the summer of 1921 the Lewistown Oil and Refining Company built and operated a refinery on a very small commercial scale to demonstrate that it was possible and profitable to refine the high grade crude oil from Cat...
    • Moccasin Experimental Station. Moccasin, Montana

    • 1928
    • Moccasin Experimental Station; Moccasin, Montana;
    • The authority to establish a branch of the Montana Agricultural Experiment Station in the Judith Basin was given in 1907. S.S. Hobson donated the land for it and in 1908 a two-story farm house was constructed on the land. An additional 480 acres of...
    • Montana Building, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1930
    • Montana Building, Lewistown, Montana;
    • Montana Building was located on the corner of Main and 3rd Avenue North. It was built in 1917.
    • Reedsfort Post Office, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1931
    •  
    • Dedication of the monument (September 17, 1931) for Reeds Fort Post Office with a group of men and women in front of the building. A large boulder has the dedication plaque attached to it.
    • Reedsfort Post Office Dedication, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1931-09-17
    • Daughters of the American Revolution;
    • Dedication of the Reedsfot Post Office by the DAR. David Hilger (near the car) is speaking The first post office in Central Montana was built in 1880 and named Reedsfort after its first postmaster, Alonzo S. Reed. It was built by Mose LaTray and...
    • Maiden, Montana

    • 1939
    • Maiden, Montana; Frank Bryant.;
    • George Wieglenda purchased this house in Maiden in 1905. It was his residence and assay office. He let Frank and Della Bryant live in it in the 30's and 40's. It was moved by Pat Hanley in 1980 and is still located in Maiden. “Skookum Joe”...
    • Moccasin, Montana;

    • 1940
    • Moccasin, Montana;
    • Photo probably 1940's. Building later called Dicks 76 in the 1950's. Moccasin was named after the Moccasin Mountains. It was a town on the Great Northern Railway and was located in the productive wheat growing area of Montana.
    • Arro Oil Refinery on Spring Creek, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1940
    • Arro oil refinery;
    • Arro Oil Refinery is shown in the distance. It was located on Lower Spring Creek, Lewistown, MT. Railroad track in the foreground, Spring Creek is next to the railroad track with a bridge crossing over it. The Moccasin Mountains are in the...
    • Sapphire Mine area.

    • 1940
    •  
    • American Mine mill at Yogo, Montana. It was located on the east side of the Little Belt Mountains. Yogo sapphires are well known for their corn-flower blue color.
    • Gem Cafes; Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1946
    •  
    • It was located at the corner of 4th Avenue South and Main Street. It was owned by P.O. Mimnaugh who started the Gem Cafe in 1931 and was remodeled in 1946.
    • Mackey building, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1955-07-16
    • Taverns; Saloons;
    • Located on the corner of Main Street and 2nd Avenue North. It was built in 1911 over the top of Spring Creek. Became the Montana Tavern. Clydesdale horses are in front of the building. The Clydesdale horses were photographed at every bar in...
    • Reed and Bowles Trading Post interior.

    • 1969
    • Trading Posts; Carroll Trail;
    • The Reed and Bowles Trading Post was located on lower Spring Creek near Lewistown, Montana. Alonzo S. Reed and J.J. Bowles built and operated a combination Indian trading post and station on the Carroll Trail on Big Spring Creek about 2 miles...
    • Reed and Bowles Trading Post interior

    • 1969
    • Trading Posts; Carroll Trail;
    • The Reed and Bowles Trading Post was located on lower Spring Creek near Lewistown, Montana. Alonzo S. Reed and J.J. Bowles built and operated a combination Indian trading post and station on the Carroll Trail on Big Spring Creek about 2 miles...
    • Reed and Bowles Trading Post

    • 1969
    • Trading Posts; Carroll Trail;
    • View from the east side. The Reed and Bowles Trading Post was located on lower Spring Creek near Lewistown, Montana. Alonzo S. Reed and J.J. Bowles built and operated a combination Indian trading post and station on the Carroll Trail on Big Spring...
    • Reed and Bowles Trading Post

    • 1969
    • Trading Posts; Carroll Trail;
    • View of the trading post from the south side. The Reed and Bowles Trading Post was located on lower Spring Creek near Lewistown, Montana. Alonzo S. Reed and J.J. Bowles built and operated a combination Indian trading post and station on the...
    • Reed and Bowles Trading Post

    • 1969
    • Trading Posts; Carroll Trail;
    • The Reed and Bowles Trading Post (center) and the County Farm (right background) are located in the same area on lower Spring Creek near Lewistown, Montana. Alonzo S. Reed and J.J. Bowles built and operated a combination Indian trading post and...
    • Reed and Bowles Trading Post

    • 1969
    • Trading Posts; Carroll Trail;
    • Entance door.The Reed and Bowles Trading Post and the County Farm are located in the same area on lower Spring Creek near Lewistown, Montana. Alonzo S. Reed and J.J. Bowles built and operated a combination Indian trading post and station on the...
    • Reed and Bowles Trading Post interior.

    • 1969
    •  
    • The Reed and Bowles Trading Post was located on lower Spring Creek near Lewistown, Montana. Alonzo S. Reed and J.J. Bowles built and operated a combination Indian trading post and station on the Carroll Trail on Big Spring Creek about 2 miles...
    • Reed and Bowles Trading Post outhouse

    • 1969
    • Trading Posts; Carroll Trail;
    • The Reed and Bowles Trading Post was located on lower Spring Creek near Lewistown, Montana. Alonzo S. Reed and J.J. Bowles built and operated a combination Indian trading post and station on the Carroll Trail on Big Spring Creek about 2 miles...
    • Reed and Bowles Trading Post

    • 1969
    • Trading Posts; Carroll Trail;
    • View of the north side of the building. The Reed and Bowles Trading Post was located on lower Spring Creek near Lewistown, Montana. Alonzo S. Reed and J.J. Bowles built and operated a combination Indian trading post and station on the Carroll...
    • Eagles Manor, Lewitown, Montana

    • 1971
    •  
    • Located on the south side of the 200 block on Janeaux Street. It was built in 1971 by the Lewistown Eagles Lodge.
    • Von Tobel's carriage house, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1975
    • Rudolph von Tobel;
    • Rudolph Von Tobel's carriage house (originally located at 301 W. Watson). Shows the carriage house before it was moved to become part of the Art Center at 801 W. Broadway.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    • 1977
    •  
    • Home located at the corner of Washington and 5th Avenue North. It was the first school house moved from the 500 block on Main Street to this location and turned into a home. It was later moved to the Joyland Road.
    • Lewistown, Montana view from the southeast.

    • 1989
    •  
    • View of area where Big Casino Creek joins with Spring Creek near Ash Street, Lewistown, Montana. This is the area where the first trading post was constructed by Peter Koch in 1873 when it was thought that the area would be set aside for the Crow...
    • Gilt Edge, Montana

    •  
    • Gilt Edge, Montana; Gold Mining;
    • Located northeast of Lewistown, Montana on Ford’s Creek. It was an early gold mining camp and had a post office in 1894. The mine closed down in 1912.
    • Moccasin Experimental Station. Moccasin, Montana

    •  
    • Moccasin Experimental Station; Moccasin, Montana;
    • The authority to establish a branch of the Montana Agricultural Experiment Station in the Judith Basin was given in 1907. S.S. Hobson donated the land for it and in 1908 a two-story farm house was constructed on the land. An Additional 480 acres of...
    • Montana Building, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Montana Building, Lewistown, Montana;
    • Montana Building was located on the corner of Main and 3rd Avenue North. It was built in 1917.
    • Moore, Montana

    •  
    • Moore, Montana;
    • Moore Railroad Depot. Moore, Montana was named after a Mr. Moore of Philadelphia who rendered financial help to Richard A. Harlow when he was building the Jaw Bone Railroad from Harlowton to Lewistown. Moore’s first post office opened in 1904....
    • Pinkley Stables, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Stables;
    • It was located on the corner of 1st Avenue South and Janeaux Street. It faced 1st Avenue South. Pinkley and Deaton had a livery stable there in 1911. It was later the E. B. Andrus wholesale store (1930). At one time it was a roller skating rink.
    • Wilder, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Wilder, Montana was located on the south side of the Missouri River about 15 miles west of the Mussellshell River in Montana. It had a post office from 1886 to 1939.
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Calvert Hotel was built in 1917 as a girl’s dormitory for the Fergus County High School. It was located at 216 7th Ave. South. On Aug. 21, 1925, it was reported by the school administration that Fergus High was broke due to the bank failures...
    • Flour Mill, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of “White Satin”. In 1895 they supplied electricity for...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Wiedeman home at 204 W. Boulevard. It was built in 1905 and later changed to brick in 1915. Mr. Wiedeman started a local brick yard in 1911.
    • Fire wagon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Fire wagon pulled by two horses on the 500 block of Janeaux Street, Lewistown, MT. The first Presbyterian Church (built 1892 and torn down in 1892) is in the background, it was located on the corner of Janeaux and 5th Avenue South.
    • Burke hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hotels;
    • It was originally called the Bright Hotel, built by John L. Bright in 1906-1908. It was later bought by “Pickhandle Burke” in 1923. It was located on the corner of Main and 6th Avenue North. It burned Feb. 12, 1959.
    • Gilt Edge, Montana

    •  
    • Gilt Edge, Montana; Gold Mining; Schools;
    • Located northeast of Lewistown, Montana on Ford’s Creek. It was an early gold mining camp and had a post office in 1894. The mine closed down in 1912.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK