Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: Culver/Brenner
(752 results)



Display: 100

    • Young girl and her doll

    •  
    • Lehman family;
    • Young girl (maybe a granddaughter of the Lehman family) sitting on the steps gazing at her doll
    • Yogo, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Yogo, Montana was a gold mining camp at first but then became known for its corn-flower blue sapphires. Yogo mining district is about 16 miles from Utica, Montana.
    • Yogo, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Yogo, Montana was a gold mining camp at first but then became known for its corn-flower blue sapphires. Yogo mining district is about 16 miles from Utica, Montana.
    • Yogo, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Yogo, Montana was a gold mining camp at first but then became known for its corn-flower blue sapphires. Yogo mining district is about 16 miles from Utica, Montana.
    • Yogo, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Yogo, Montana was a gold mining camp at first but then became known for its corn-flower blue sapphires. Yogo mining district is about 16 miles from Utica, Montana.
    • Yogo, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Yogo, Montana was a gold mining camp at first but then became known for its corn-flower blue sapphires. Yogo mining district is about 16 miles from Utica, Montana.
    • Yogo, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Yogo, Montana was a gold mining camp at first but then became known for its corn-flower blue sapphires. Yogo mining district is about 16 miles from Utica, Montana.
    • Yogo, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Yogo, Montana was a gold mining camp at first but then became known for its corn-flower blue sapphires. Yogo mining district is about 16 miles from Utica, Montana.
    • Yogo, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Yogo, Montana was a gold mining camp at first but then became known for its corn-flower blue sapphires. Yogo mining district is about 16 miles from Utica, Montana.
    • Yogo, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Yogo, Montana was a gold mining camp at first but then became known for its corn-flower blue sapphires. Yogo mining district is about 16 miles from Utica, Montana.
    • Wool Hauling, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Wool Industry;
    • Teams of horses pulling carts loaded with bags of wool next to the railroad station at Lewistown, Montana.
    • Woman washing clothes.

    •  
    • Washing clothes;
    • A woman is washing her clothes in a wash tub on a bench in her yard.
    • Winnett, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winnett, Montana (in Petroleum County) was settled by Walter Winnett. He established a store and post office in 1910 which became the beginning of the town.
    • Winnett, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winnett, Montana (in Petroleum County) was settled by Walter Winnett. He established a store and post office in 1910 which became the beginning of the town.
    • Winnett, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winnett, Montana (in Petroleum County) was settled by Walter Winnett. He established a store and post office in 1910 which became the beginning of the town.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • William Fergus family, Box Elder Creek, Montana

    • 1892
    • Fergus family
    • Mr. and Mrs. William (brother of James Fergus) Fergus seated in the center with their grandchildren, sons and daughters of Christina and David Hilger, surrounding them.
    • Wieglanda, George with gold brick

    •  
    •  
    • George Heinrick Wieglenda was born on August 15, 1876, in Heidersdorf, Province of Silesia, Germany. His parents, John and Selma immigrated to the United States around 1883. George left home around 1893 and after drifting around Eastern Montana, at...
    • Wiedeman, George

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • George J. Wiedeman was born at New Bremen, Auglaize County, Ohio, February 22, 1859. In September 1881, Mr. Wiedeman came to Montana and to the Judith Basin where he worked for Jack Waite as a sheep herder. The next year he took a band of sheep on...
    • Water well.

    • 1966-09-01
    • Water wells;
    • Small water well near Winnett, Montana
    • Warm Spring Power Plant for mine at Kendall, Montana

    •  
    • Power Plants;
    • Construction of the Warm Spring Power Plant building was started in early August 1901. It was located on the west bank of Warm Spring Creek at the foot of a steep hill at the top of which the water supply ditch ended in a massive bulkhead. It was...
    • Warm Spring Power Plant for mine at Kendall, Montana

    •  
    • Power Plants;
    • Construction of the Warm Spring Power Plant building was started in early August 1901. It was located on the west bank of Warm Spring Creek at the foot of a steep hill at the top of which the water supply ditch ended in a massive bulkhead. It was...
    • Warm Spring Power Plant for mine at Kendall, Montana

    •  
    • Power Plants;
    • Construction of the Warm Spring Power Plant building was started in early August 1901. It was located on the west bank of Warm Spring Creek at the foot of a steep hill at the top of which the water supply ditch ended in a massive bulkhead. It was...
    • Warm Spring Power Plant for mine at Kendall, Montana

    •  
    • Power Plants;
    • Construction of the Warm Spring Power Plant building was started in early August 1901. It was located on the west bank of Warm Spring Creek at the foot of a steep hill at the top of which the water supply ditch ended in a massive bulkhead. It was...
    • Warm Spring Power Plant for mine at Kendall, Montana

    •  
    • Power Plants;
    • Construction of the Warm Spring Power Plant building was started in early August 1901. It was located on the west bank of Warm Spring Creek at the foot of a steep hill at the top of which the water supply ditch ended in a massive bulkhead. It was...
    • Warm Spring Power Plant for mine at Kendall, Montana

    •  
    • Power Plants;
    • Water turbine. Construction of the Warm Spring Power Plant building was started in early August 1901. It was located on the west bank of Warm Spring Creek at the foot of a steep hill at the top of which the water supply ditch ended in a massive...
    • Warm Spring Power Plant for mine at Kendall, Montana

    •  
    • Power Plants;
    • Construction of the Warm Spring Power Plant building was started in early August 1901. It was located on the west bank of Warm Spring Creek at the foot of a steep hill at the top of which the water supply ditch ended in a massive bulkhead. It was...
    • Warm Spring Power Plant for mine at Kendall, Montana

    •  
    • Power Plants;
    • Construction of the Warm Spring Power Plant building was started in early August 1901. It was located on the west bank of Warm Spring Creek at the foot of a steep hill at the top of which the water supply ditch ended in a massive bulkhead. It was...
    • Warm Spring Power Plant for mine at Kendall, Montana

    •  
    • Power Plants;
    • Construction of the Warm Spring Power Plant building was started in early August 1901. It was located on the west bank of Warm Spring Creek at the foot of a steep hill at the top of which the water supply ditch ended in a massive bulkhead. It was...
    • Warm Spring Power Plant for mine at Kendall, Montana

    •  
    • Power Plants;
    • Construction of the Warm Spring Power Plant building was started in early August 1901. It was located on the west bank of Warm Spring Creek at the foot of a steep hill at the top of which the water supply ditch ended in a massive bulkhead. It was...
    • Warm Spring Power Plant for mine at Kendall, Montana

    •  
    • Power Plants;
    • Construction of the Warm Spring Power Plant building was started in early August 1901. It was located on the west bank of Warm Spring Creek at the foot of a steep hill at the top of which the water supply ditch ended in a massive bulkhead. It was...
    • Warm Spring Power Plant for mine at Kendall, Montana

    •  
    • Power Plants;
    • Construction of the Warm Spring Power Plant building was started in early August 1901. It was located on the west bank of Warm Spring Creek at the foot of a steep hill at the top of which the water supply ditch ended in a massive bulkhead. It was...
    • Von Tobel's carriage house, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1975
    • Rudolph von Tobel;
    • Rudolph Von Tobel's carriage house (originally located at 301 W. Watson). Shows the carriage house before it was moved to become part of the Art Center at 801 W. Broadway.
    • Von Tobel, Elizabeth

    •  
    • Elizabeth Von Tobel;
    • Elizabeth Von Tobel was the daughter of Rudolph Von Tobel.
    • Van Orsdel, William Wesley

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Rev. William Wesley “Brother Van” Orsdel came to Montana in 1872. He rode horseback through Montana, preaching the Gospel and always carrying a Bible and a hymnal. Brother Van conducted his first Methodist service at Philbrook near present-day...
    • Utica, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Judith Hotel and the Silver Dollar Saloon (Morris & Waite).
    • Utica, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Utica started in 1880 due to the discovery of gold in nearby Yogo Gulch and the establishment of a stage route from Fort Benton to Helena, which stopped there. Later Utica served as a stop on a Great Falls-Billings stagecoach line....
    • Ubet, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Ubet was settled by John Barrows in 1880 as a stop along the stage route.
    • Ubet, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Ubet was settled by John Barrows in 1880 as a stop along the stage route.
    • Ubet, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Ubet was settled by John Barrows in 1880 as a stop along the stage route.
    • Ubet Pioneeers

    • 1941-06-21
    • Freighters Monument;
    • Ubet pioneers at the dedication of the Freighters Monument held at the Fergus County Courthouse June 21, 1941.
    • U. S. Gypsum plant at Heath, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • U. S. Gypsum plant at Heath, Montana was located 10 miles southeast of Lewistown, Montana. The land was purchased in 1916. Construction began in 1921.
    • Tullock, Guy

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Guy Tullock (Sherriff) born White Sulphur Springs, MT, April 29, 1890, and was six years of age when his parents removed to Fergus county, where he attended Lewistown public schools. After gaining practical experience on several ranches in this...
    • Traveling photographer out on the prairie

    •  
    •  
    • Photographer under his tent with his photography equipment and chuckwagon nearby. He also has a cooking stove and table with cooking utensils. A wooden box on the ground is labeled: G. Cramer Dry Plate Co., St. Louis, Missouri.
    • Train snow plow

    •  
    •  
    • A group of men are standing near the rotary end of the railroad snowplow and one man is up on the rotary blade.
    • Tail Holt Gold Mine

    • 1930
    •  
    • The Tail Holt Gold Mine was located in the Judith Mountains near Lewistown, MT
    • Swimming pool at Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Swimming pools;
    • This was a natural spring-fed pool which also received water piped in from Spring Creek. It was replaced by the current pool in the late 1960s. The park was renamed the Frank Day Park, located at Cook Street and 6th Avenue South.
    • Straw, Montana

    •  
    • Straw, Montana;
    • H.E. Gaugler Store at Straw, Montana. It was named for William O. Straw. The Straw post office lasted from 1904 to 1954. The town was located between Moore and Judith Gap, Montana.
    • Steam tractor on Main Street, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Steam tractor in the middle of the 300 block of Main Street. The buildings in the background are on the north side of the street. They include (right to left) the Power Mercantile (1901), The Bon Ton (1893), unidentified, Stafford Harness (1890),...
    • Stagecoach at Lehman's Store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lehman's Department Store; Golden Rule Store;
    • The Stagecoach approaching Lehman's store (built 1893) located on the corner of 5th Ave. North and Main Street. The Judith Basin Bank (built 1899) is on the far left and the Golden Rule Store is on the right.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    • Hospitals Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1953
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1953
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana;.Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1953
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1953
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1953
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph’s Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Hospitals; Lewistown, Montana; Croatian Stonemasons;
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK