Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: Culver/Brenner
(752 results)



Display: 100

    • Hilger, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The town of Hilger is named for David Hilger, born in Henderson, Minn. in 1857. He came to Helena when he was 10 with his family in a covered wagon, receiving his education in Helena and working for James Fergus who lived on a ranch near Helena....
    • Lewistown Grocery Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Lewistown Grocery Company truck is parked in a field with a man sitting at the wheel. The first high school and gymnasium can be seen through the back of the truck.
    • Lehman Co, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Charles Lehman Co, located on the corner of Main Street and 5th Avenue North. It was built in 1892-1893
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • U.S. Mail car (Essex) parked in front of the Stapleton Block (built 1916) at 414 W. Broadway. Judith Motor Company is occuping the building.
    • Reedsfort Post Office, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1931
    •  
    • Dedication of the monument (September 17, 1931) for Reeds Fort Post Office with a group of men and women in front of the building. A large boulder has the dedication plaque attached to it.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Man in front of the Ford Garage on Broadway Street (600 block). The Methodist Church can be seen in the background.
    • Pinkley Stables, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • It was located on the corner of 1st Avenue South and Janeaux Street. It faced 1st Avenue South. Pinkley and Deaton had a livery stable there in 1911. It was later the E. B. Andrus wholesale store (1930). At one time it was a roller skating rink....
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • 707 W. Boulevard. Originally owned by John Bright as his carriage house and stables. Built in 1902.
    • Lewistown Dairy Wagon, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Lewistown Dairy wagon. Beat John Kuhne was born on January 10, 1882, in Benken, St. Gallen, Switzerland. He immigrated to Montana in 1906 at the age of 24. He came to the Lewistown area at the urging of the former Joe King and worked as a hand for...
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Day House hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Day House Hotel (built in 1880's at Reeds Fort) was located on the corner of 4th Avenue North and Main Street. It had been moved from Reeds Fort to this location and in 1908 it was moved to the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North. A balcony...
    • Fort Maginnis, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Fort Maginnis in the distance with the Judith Mountains in the background. The fort existed 1880-1890.
    • Glen Morton constructing his homestead

    •  
    •  
    • Glen Morton worked at the Warm Springs Power Plant which supplied electricity to the Kendall Mines in the Moccasin Mountains in Montana.
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Calvert Hotel was built in 1917 as a girl’s dormitory for the Fergus County High School. It was located at 216 7th Ave. South. On Aug. 21, 1925, it was reported by the school administration that Fergus High was broke due to the bank failures...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Dockery House, 1105 W. Main. It was built in 1912 for Jefferson Albert (J.H.) Akins and his wife, Louise Cresap Akins. J.H. Akins owned the Golden Rule store. The Akins moved to Montana from Missouri in 1896 or ’97, first to Deer Lodge, then to...
    • Train snow plow

    •  
    •  
    • A group of men are standing near the rotary end of the railroad snowplow and one man is up on the rotary blade.
    • Day House Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Day House Hotel (built in 1880's at Reedsfort) was located on the corner of 4th Avenue North and Main Street. It had been moved from Reeds Fort to this location and in 1908 it was moved to the corner of Broadway and 4th Ave North. A balcony...
    • Lincoln, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Lincoln School was built in 1889 and located 216 6th Avenue South. It was replaced by a new school in 1912.
    • First School House, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • First school house (built 1883) located at 521 W. Main. The teacher and all the students are in a group next to the school posing for the photo. The teacher is holding an American flag. Some of the children are holding bouquets of flowers.
    • Calvert Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Calvert Hotel was built in 1917 as a girl’s dormitory for the Fergus County High School. It was located at 216 7th Ave. South. On Aug. 21, 1925, it was reported by the school administration that Fergus High was broke due to the bank failures...
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    • 1916
    •  
    • A tornado is seen in the background, touching down in a farmer's field near Brooks, Montana (north of Lewistown). Overview of Lewistown looking from the high school toward the Moccasin Mountains.
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Group touring the large natural caves in the New Year mine.The New Year mine is on the north side of the range west of Maiden. Several claims were located in New Year gulch in the early 1880's.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Hanover gypsum mine located 9 miles NW of Lewistown, Mt began in 1914. Later the Three Forks Cement Co. bought the mine and built a plaster plant (1916) and a cement plant (1917) at the same location. A lime quarry was on the top of the...
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • J. T. Wunderlin home at 222 W. Washington. It was built in 1905. The original owner was Edmund Wright.
    • Gold Mining in Central Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • Cumberland Mill looking down Spotted Horse Gulch (the switch back road leading into Maiden Canyon is here.)
    • Paving Main Street, Lewistown, Montana.

    • 1913
    •  
    • Construction of the Bank Electric building, 505 W. Main Street (right). The Lewistown State Bank aross the street is also being constructed.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Dr. Arter W. Deal residence 415 W. Boulevard. This house was originally from Fort Maginnis which existed from 1880-1890.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • This was the residence of T.T. Taylor who was a banker. It was built in 1919 at 215 W. Boulevard. It is part of the Silk Stocking District.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Exterior of part of the Three Forks Cement Plant. The mine entrance is shown on the right. The Hanover gypsum mine located 9 miles NW of Lewistown, Mt began in 1914. Later the Three Forks Cement Co. bought the mine and built a plaster plant (1916)...
    • Ark Exchange Truck, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The Ark Exchange was a used furniture store. The building in the background is the Wise Block was located on the 500 block of Main Street. It was built in 1911 and burned in 1959.
    • Bank of Fergus County, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Bank of Fergus County (built in 1904) located at 223 W. Main. It was used by the bank until they moved across Main Street to 224 W. Main in 1917.
    • Horse and buggy rig

    •  
    •  
    • Earl Eastman is driving. Location is the corner of 5th Avenue North and Washington Street, Lewistown, Montana
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View from the top of Main Street hill. The Dockery house is on the right side.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Blackford residence 713 W. Main. It was built in 1909. Mr. William M. Blackford was an attorney.
    • Children in school yard, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1888
    •  
    • Lewistown Main Street. The first school house is on the right side with school children in yard next to the school. A fence surrounds the school and yard. Main Street is in front of the school. Judith Mountains are in the background.
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Exterior of the Hanover Post Office and the Hanover Mercantile Company located in the same building at Hanover, MT. A bus is parked in front of the building. The town was built for the employees of the cement plant which was located across the...
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Judith Basin Milling Co., Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Flour mill on East Main Street, Lewistown, Montana. The flour mill was started by the Jackson brothers in 1886. They sold the mill in 1889 to Cyrus S. Stiles and William C. Waldorf who modernized it. The flour was sold under the brand name of...
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Left is the May Apartments at 803 W. Main built in 1902 by John Laux, Austin W. Warr home (center) at 812 W. Main and Charles Lehman home (right) built in 1900 at 802 W. Main.
    • Steam tractor on Main Street, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Steam tractor in the middle of the 300 block of Main Street. The buildings in the background are on the north side of the street. They include (right to left) the Power Mercantile (1901), The Bon Ton (1893), unidentified, Stafford Harness (1890),...
    • Hanover, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Exterior of the Three Forks Cement Plant, Hanover, Montana, as seen from the town of Hanover across Highway 426. A man is standing at the top of the steps leading from the town of Hanover to lower fields where there are a few houses that some of...
    • Moore, Montana baseball team

    •  
    •  
    • Front row: Walt Fitzwater (second from left) and Clark Combs (far right); second row second from left H. C. Redman, Sam Tilzey, Al Fleming and David Vogel; Standing in back are Andy Mathews (left) and Frank Wolf; Miller Mathews child sitting in...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • David Hilger's home at 706 W. Boulevard. This house was originally built at Fort Maginnis which existed 1880-1890. The house was dismantled and moved to this site in Lewistown.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    • 1924
    •  
    • Buildings on the north side of the 300 block on Main Street. "Our Band Wagon" car the driver is Guy Dodge, fiddle played by Harry McArthur, banjo is played by Pat Posten and violin played by Mr Graham. View shows the Hancock Drug Store, the Bon Ton...
    • Fort Maginnis, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Fort Maginnis was located east of Lewistown, Montana and was established in 1880 and discontinued in 1890
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • South side of the 400 block on Main Street, Lewistown, MT. The H.H. Lang Block was built in 1904 and housed the Fergus County Hardware Co and the Fad Shoe and Clothing Co.The Slater Block in the middle was built in 1913 and housed the Myrtle...
    • Glen Morton

    •  
    •  
    • Glen Morton at the dooway of the Warm Springs Power Plant where he worked. The Power Plant supplied electricity to the Kendall Mines.
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • St. Joseph's Hospital, Lewistown, Montana.

    •  
    •  
    • The first unit was completed and opened on October 15, 1908. The first unit was built by Pete Tuss, a Croatian immigrant who came to Lewistown either in 1898 or 1899. The second unit, the longest of the five units, was started in 1913. John F....
    • Winifred, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Winifred, Montana began as a railway station along Dog Creek. It is located about 37 miles north of Lewistown, Montana.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK