Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Central Montana Historical Photographs

  • All fields: 1896
(27 results)



Display: 100

    • American House Hotel, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • The American House Hotel (built 1896 burned 1902) located on the southeast corner of Main Street and 6th Ave. South, Lewistown, MT. The first Courthouse is shown on the middle of the photo in the horizon. To the right is the construction of the...
    • Barrett, Britton

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Britton Barrett came to Montana from Iowa in 1887. He homesteaded on a branch of Trout Creek and later bought land on Rock Creek. His wife Rose came to Fergus County with her mother and two older brothers. Britton freighted between Billings and...
    • Bertrand and Laux's store, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Joseph Bertrand came to Lewistown in 1887, as an employee of T. C. Power & Bros.; in 1896 he began merchandising for himself. His business may have been in the 200 block on Main Street (north side)
    • Croft, James Mitchell

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • James Mitchell Croft was born Jan 3, 1858 in Waterbury, Conn. and died July 11, 1930. He was an accountant. He came to Montana in 1881 and located on the Sun River. He moved to Stanford in 1882 and was in the sheep business. He was elected County...
    • Elephants on parade, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Circus parade on Main Street at the corner of 5th Avenue South and Main Street. The tall building on the left is the Fergus County Argus newspaper office, built in 1896 and replaced in 1913. The Lewistown Furniture Co. building address was 102-104...
    • Fergus County Argus Building, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of the Fergus County Argus Newspaper building (built 1896) on the corner of Main Street and 5th Avenue South. It was built in 1896 and replaced in 1913.
    • Fergus County Argus office, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana; Halsey Watson;
    • Interior of the Fergus County Argus newspaper office (built 1896) located at 423 W. Main, Lewistown, MT. Halsey Watson is seated at a desk and Mrs. Reeder is standing at a work table. A mounted eagle is on the wall.
    • Fowler, Donald

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Donald Fowler was born Feb 23, 1850 near Ross shire, near Inverness Scotland and died Mar 9, 1932. He was married to Annie W. McLennan in 1876. He was county assessor in 1898 and 1900. He came to America in 1876 and to Montana in 1880 and went into...
    • Homes of Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Dockery House, 1105 W. Main. It was built in 1912 for Jefferson Albert (J.H.) Akins and his wife, Louise Cresap Akins. J.H. Akins owned the Golden Rule store. The Akins moved to Montana from Missouri in 1896 or ’97, first to Deer Lodge, then to...
    • Landusky, Montana

    • 1896
    • Landusky, Montana;
    • Landusky was named after Powell “Pike” Landusky. Pike Landusky and Bob Orman discoved a gold mine in 1893 which developed into a boom town.
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • Parade on Main Street. Building on the left is the Fergus County Argus Newspaper office (built in 1896) and located on the corner of Main Street and 5th Avenue South. View also shows the Lewistown Furniture company (102-104 5th Avenue South) and...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Lewistown, Montana;
    • View of Main Street, Lewistown, MT from the corner of 5th Avenue to the Judith Mountains. Telephone and electrical poles line both sides of street. The News-Argus building (built 1896) is on the right side. Next to it is the Lang Building. Lehman's...
    • Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    • Buildings;
    • Buildings left to right: Lang Building (built 1904), Diamond Block (built 1907), Fergus County Argus newspaper office (built 1896).
    • Maiden, Montana

    •  
    • Maiden, Montana;
    • Maiden from the east, before 1896. “Skookum Joe” Anderson, David Jones, Frank “Pony” McPartland, J. R. Kemper, C. Snow and others, were credited with the discovery of the mines of the Maiden District. In May, 1880, “Skookum Joe” and Jones located...
    • Parade, Lewistown, Montana

    •  
    •  
    • View of a 4th of July parade on the south side of the 400 block on Main Street. American flags are draped from the Fergus County Argus Newspaper Building (built 1896).
    • Phillips, Samuel

    • 1920
    • Pioneers;
    • Samuel Phillips was born March 11, 1849. He came west from the state of New York in 1880. He located four miles above Lewistown on Big Spring Creek in 1881 where he ran 5,000 sheep. He married Margaret Page in 1883. In 1892 they built a home at 508...
    • Procession of school children, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1898
    • Spanish-American War;
    • View of the south side of the 500 block on Main Street. The children are marching and holding an American flag and the Puerto Rican flag. The building on the left faced 5th Avenue and was the Lewistown Furniture Store. The small building in the...
    • Procession of school children, Lewistown, Montana

    • 1898
    • Lewistown, Montana
    • View of Lewistown, Montana from the corner of 5th Avenue and Main Street. Charles Lehman store (built 1892) is on the right. The Fergus County Courthouse that was built in 1892 is in the center back. The American House Hotel (built 1896 and burned...
    • Rauch, John B.

    •  
    • Rauch, John B.;
    • John Rauch was born Feb 24, 1868 in Virden, Illinois and died Nov 30, 1953. He came to Montana in 1890. He was married to Margaret Fergus (youngest daughter of William Fergus) in 1896. He worked at Lehman’s store and managed the Judith Hardware.
    • Saxl, Emil

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Emil Saxl was born in Bohemia, Austria, January 21, 1874. In 1896, he arrived in Montana coming overland from Casper, Wyoming to Lewistown, Montana. Mr. Saxl, a violinist and Fred Peterson, a cello player, formed a partnership, and opened a music...
    • Slater, Lincoln P.

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Lincoln P. Slater was born April 14, 1865 in Aurora, Illinois. He came to Montana in 1884 and worked on a horse ranch near White Sulphur Springs. He had various cattlemen jobs and in 1892 he got a job as foreman for James Fergus. In 1896 he took up...
    • Waite, John D.

    •  
    • Pioneers;
    • Waite, John D. He came from Pen Yan, New York in 1880 and settled near Utica, Montana and raised sheep. He was a representative of Fergus County to the Montana Territorial Assembly. He was elected sheriff in 1894 and 1896. He later lived in...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK